Skip to content

Cascade Scarf

September 2, 2008

I wanted to make a scarf that was light and airy, soft and romantic. This is what I came up with.

The yarn is Sirdar Blur – not the nicest of yarns, but I had some left over from a previous project and didn’t want it to go to waste. I think the yarn looks best when crocheted with a larger hook, which is why I went for a 8mm – I tried smaller hooks and the fabric they produced just looked too dense and hairy – not a nice effect! It does mean that the spirals are quite floppy though, not like in my ruffle scarf pattern where they have quite a bit of structure. Still, it does drape nicely and I guess the softer spirals fit more with the romantic theme.

The pattern is really simple. I basically just increased every other stitch after I had done a single row of double crochet (US sc) and with each row I increased the height of the stitch. Here is the pattern:

Cascade Scarf by Kittyboo Crochet

WARNING – this pattern has not been tested and I wrote it up after making the scarf, rather than as I went along. If you have any problems, please let me know and I’ll try to help.

Yarn: Sirdar Blur 50g  x 2

Hook: 8.00mm

Pattern using UK Crochet Terms

Chain 170.

Row 1: Dc in second chain from hook. Dc along to end. Ch 3. Turn

Row 2: Tr in stitch at base of turning chain. (1 tr in next dc, 2 tr in next dc.) Repeat to end. Chain 4. Turn.

Row 3: Dtr into stitch at base of turning chain. (1 dtr in next tr, 2 dtr in next tr) repeat to end. Chain 5. Turn.

Row 4: Trtr into stitch at base of turning chain. (1 trtr in dtr, 2 trtr in next dtr) repeat until end. Chain 1. Turn.

Row 5: Dc into stitch at base of turning chain. 2 dc into each stitch until end. Fasten off. Weave in ends. 

 

Pattern using US Crochet Terms

Ch 170

Row 1: Sc in second chain from hook. Sc along to end. Ch 3. Turn

Row 2: Dc in stitch at base of turning chain. (1 dc in next sc, 2 dc in next sc.) Repeat to end. Chain 4. Turn.

Row 3: Trc into stitch at base of turning chain. (1 trc in next dc, 2 trc in next dc) repeat to end. Chain 5. Turn.

Row 4: Dtr into stitch at base of turning chain. (1 Dtr in trc, 2 dtr in next trc) repeat until end. Chain 1. Turn.

Row 5: Sc into stitch at base of turning chain. 2 sc into each stitch until end. Fasten off. Weave in ends. 

Ooops: I noticed a couple of typos in the pattern which I’ve now corrected. If you downloaded the pdf, however, this has not been corrected so please refer to the pattern above instead. Thanks.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. Rabbit permalink
    September 3, 2008 2:33 am

    Oh, how lovely! Thank you so much for the pattern too

  2. travellersyarn permalink
    September 3, 2008 12:05 pm

    Thanks for this pattern – it is exactly what I was after!

  3. silvercharmster permalink
    September 3, 2008 1:51 pm

    It looks like it drapes so nicely – Very romantic! A really lovely scarf!

  4. September 3, 2008 4:33 pm

    Thanks very much – glad you like! I’m looking forward to seeing some finished objects!

  5. September 8, 2008 5:03 pm

    This is gorgeous! I’ll be linking to this project!

  6. September 8, 2008 8:31 pm

    It looks so airy and nice. Now I want to make one. Will I never learn not to look at other people’s projects!

  7. September 8, 2008 10:37 pm

    I love this pattern. Thanks for writting it!

  8. September 9, 2008 4:20 pm

    As soon l did see this lovely scarf…l know l had to make one for my sister in law. To accomodate her rather preppy flirty way, l added beads on the last row. l’m thinking about making her another one in a fuzzy yarn too. Thanks for posting this pattern.

  9. September 13, 2008 5:51 pm

    oooh – this is so pretty! I love that the ruffles are less structured. Will have to go hunt through my stash, see if I’ve got the right kind of yarn for this.

    What kind of yardage did you use up on yours?

  10. virtualquilter permalink
    September 29, 2008 2:26 am

    Beautiful scarf, which I might try turning into something smaller to use as a Christmas decoration.

  11. October 5, 2008 3:23 am

    Thank you for sharing the pattern. I love the pictures, it looks so soft and romantic.

  12. October 6, 2008 8:37 pm

    Gorgeous~I’ve bookmarked it! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  13. October 19, 2008 5:18 pm

    I love this scarf, thanks for the pattern, I can’t wait to make it!

  14. November 26, 2008 3:14 am

    Wow…great pattern. Thanks for sharing!

  15. January 2, 2009 12:55 am

    gorgeous! Thanks for sharing!

  16. January 19, 2009 5:57 am

    Hi,
    Thank you for the pattern. I enjoyed making my scarf.
    It was a quick project, and I am very happy with mine.

    I have a picture in my blog.

    Pirk

  17. January 19, 2009 8:05 am

    Pirk – thank you. Your scarf looks gorgeous – really lovely colours – I’d never thought to try a variegated yarn but it works really well!

  18. August 25, 2009 3:31 pm

    Nice output indeed. So cool and can be used generally, I mean, can be used as raffles for the skirt or blouse, etc…or can be an ideal gift to our love ones.

  19. Pat permalink
    September 28, 2009 11:38 pm

    Beautiful. I can’t wait to get started (just as soon as I finish this sock).

    Thanks for the US instructions.

  20. Farida permalink
    October 29, 2009 10:23 pm

    Thank you for sharing! this was exactly what I was looking for 🙂 Beautiful scarf!

  21. Aissa permalink
    November 2, 2009 5:53 pm

    I love this! I’m making it right now and so far I’m really liking it.
    I voted for your blog. Good job! 🙂

  22. Juliet permalink
    November 10, 2009 4:16 am

    Yay! I’m making this for my aunt for Christmas. I’m almost finished, it’s so easy to work, but still so beautiful! I also really liked that you had both UK and US abbreviations. I like to practice reading UK abbreviations just in case I come across a pattern that I want to try that does not have the US abbreviations, and this was a great chance for me to compare. Thanks! LOVE it

  23. Rachel permalink
    December 22, 2009 8:20 pm

    Hiya, I love this scarf so much. I’m in the middle of making one right now. I was wondering if i could make a youtube video of this, if i have your permission to do so. I would put a link onto your blog and also onto this pattern. Thanks and merry christmas, Rachel xx

  24. Bee permalink
    December 23, 2009 3:02 pm

    I am making a version of this scarf for my grandmother for Christmas…. (it’s really getting close to crunch time, ahh!) This pattern is really beautiful and I am so appreciative that are sharing it with us. Thank you!!

  25. January 31, 2010 7:33 pm

    Lovely! Just what I was looking for… Right now to hunt up an 8mm hook.

  26. February 6, 2010 8:09 pm

    I love this beautiful scarf. Just wanted to let you know I featured it on my blog today. Thank you so much for sharing.

  27. jennifer permalink
    September 20, 2010 12:27 am

    as soon as i seen this picture. i loved it because it was different and elegant looking. i immediately started making it knowing it wouldn’t look exactly like yours. to my surprise, it did. it was so quick and easy even for someone who is not very good at crocheting. i have made all the lady’s in the family one for christmas and inserted a card in the box with this website i found it on for them to visit. thank you again for sharing your lovely work!

  28. francine15 permalink
    October 2, 2010 11:00 am

    thank you very much beautiful scarf

  29. moon permalink
    October 14, 2010 10:31 pm

    very nice work thank you ^_^

  30. October 19, 2010 3:44 pm

    Cute pattern! It somewhat reminds me of A Little Princess where she gets to wear a lot of scarves – because of the winter setting.

  31. November 7, 2010 10:40 pm

    Lovely! I just finished making one, it’s on my blog if you’re interested. Have already started another one. Thank you so much for sharing.

  32. Paola permalink
    November 23, 2010 6:38 am

    I JUST finished this scarf, and I absolutely love it! Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

  33. December 11, 2010 8:37 pm

    Thank you, going to give it a go. Steph

  34. Kathleen permalink
    May 11, 2011 3:31 am

    How do I get the pdf version? I’m stuck on Row 4 of the US version.

  35. Antoine Christine permalink
    May 11, 2011 8:39 am

    Pouvez vous m’envoyer un diagramme car j’ai des difficultés avec les points anglais ? Merci beaucoup et à bientôt. Christine
    antoinechristine@msn.com

  36. theevilbunny permalink
    August 14, 2011 9:44 pm

    Thank you for the lovely pattern.

  37. Leanne permalink
    November 3, 2011 11:39 pm

    Thank you for sharing such gorgeous and easy pattern! I’m making this for my sisters for Christmas. It’s so pretty and versatile, too! Thank you, thank you!

  38. Maria Eugenia de Navas permalink
    November 7, 2012 3:49 pm

    pudiera enviarme a mi correo el diagrama, mi correo es maru0809sv@yahoo.com.
    could you be so kind to send me the diagram to my email maru0809sv@yahoo.com, i will appreciate your help. thank you so much it´s lovely

Trackbacks

  1. Cascade Schal «
  2. (Not so) Wordless Wednesday | Runaway October
  3. hyperbolic anemone: a crocheted scarf | i made it so.
  4. A Brand Spanking New Year « prairie chicken

Leave a comment