Skip to content

Cassia Scarf

September 28, 2008

Time for a confession – I have a bit of a thing about knitted lace and I always eye up the beautiful projects on Ravelry with a mixture of awe and envy. So, when I rediscovered some lacweight yarn in my stash, I thought it was about time that I attempted a crochet version and here it is, beautifully modeled by my sister….

I’m rather pleased with how it turned out – although I’m wondering if I should try blocking (another confession – the idea of blocking scares me) but it’s a good length, so maybe it really doesn’t need it. Here’s a close up of one of the ends so you can see a bit more detail:

So, down to the details…. The yarn is Crystal Palace Kid Merino in Berry but any laceweight yarn would work. I’ve just ordered some Rowan Kidsilk Haze for my next version which I’m sure will look lovely and be a bit softer on the skin. 

The stitch pattern is incredibly easy – although very repetitive but sometimes that is a good thing as it means you can zone out a bit as you crochet. Um, here is yet another picture…..

And now for the pattern – after my usual words of warning: it hasn’t been tested and I wrote it up after making the scarf so if you encounter any problems / mistakes, please get in touch and I’ll try to help!

Cassia Scarf Pattern by Kittyboo Crochet

Yarn: Crystal Palace Kid Merino (25g) in Berry x 3 or substitute with approx. 700 yards of any laceweight yarn. 

Hook: 4.00mm

Note: The first half of the scarf is made and then the second half isworked into the back of the foundation chain so that the pattern is the same at both ends of the scarf.

Pattern using UK terms

Chain 60.

Row 1: 3 tr into 8th ch from hook, ch 2, 3 tr into same ch as previous 3 tr, ch 1, miss 3 ch, 1 tr into next ch, *ch 1, miss 3 ch, 3 tr into next ch, ch 2, 3 tr into same ch as previous 3 tr, ch 1, miss 3 ch, 1 tr into next ch. Repeat from * until end. 

Row 2: Ch 4 (counts as 1 tr plus 1 ch), miss 1 ch and 3 tr then 3 tr into first 2 ch space, ch 2, 3 tr into same ch space, **ch 1, miss 1 ch, 1 tr into tr below, ch 1, 3 tr into 2 ch space, ch 2, 3 tr into same ch space, ch 1, 1 tr into tr. Repeat from ** until end, ending with last tr in 3rd chain of turning ch. 

Rows 3 – 64: Repeat Row 2 then fasten off.

Rejoin yarn at start of foundation chain and work as row 1 into the back of each chain then work as in first half of scarf until the halves are the same length. Fasten off and weave in ends.

Pattern using US terms

Chain 60.

Row 1: 3 dc into 8th ch from hook, ch 2, 3 dc into same ch as previous 3 dc, ch 1, miss 3 ch, 1 dc into next ch, *ch 1, miss 3 ch, 3 dc into next ch, ch 2, 3 dc into same ch as previous 3 dc, ch 1, miss 3 ch, 1 dc into next ch. Repeat from * until end. 

Row 2: Ch 4 (counts as 1 dc plus 1 ch), miss 1 ch and 3 dc then 3 dc into first 2 ch space, ch 2, 3 dc into same ch space, **ch 1, miss 1 ch, dc into dc below, ch 1, 3 dc into 2 ch space, ch 2, 3 dc into same ch space, ch 1, 1 dc into dc. Repeat from ** until end, ending with last dc in 3rd chain of turning ch. 

Rows 3 – 64: Repeat Row 2 then fasten off.

Rejoin yarn at start of foundation chain and work as row 1 into the back of each chain then work as in first half of scarf until the halves are the same length. Fasten off and weave in ends.

 

For those of you who prefer to crochet from charts, here is a (rather hurriedly) handdrawn chart of the stitch pattern repeats…

Hope that helps! If you do make this scarf, I’d love to hear how you get on and see some pics of finished items. Thanks for looking.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2008 5:18 pm

    great pattern so simple and so effective!
    x

  2. September 28, 2008 6:26 pm

    Absolutely luxurious! Thanks for posting the pattern!

  3. September 28, 2008 6:35 pm

    This is sooo beautiful!

  4. September 29, 2008 11:52 pm

    man i’m a sucka for a simple shell scarf!

  5. September 30, 2008 7:38 am

    Cette écharpe est très jolie. Félicitations pour le travail..Je continue ma visite sur votre blog.

  6. carolyn permalink
    October 1, 2008 11:47 pm

    beautiful scarf & pattern!

  7. October 7, 2008 11:52 am

    Thanks for the pattern. Cute little scarf and looks simple and quick.

  8. November 11, 2008 7:28 pm

    Hi… I just made your Cassia Scarf… I am DragonMommie on Ravelry and you can find it in my projects page there.

    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/Dragonmommie/cassia-scarf

    I had to omit two pattern repeats because it first turned out too wide. I am using a sort of mystery yarn in that it’s very old yarn and the label does not show the yardage… I used four balls for the whole scarf, two on each side.

    Thanks so much for sharing this pattern… I am intending on make three more, one for each of my son’s teachers at school.
    Debbie

  9. November 11, 2008 8:05 pm

    Hello all,

    Thanks for your kind comments. So pleased you like the pattern.

    Debbie – just checked out your scarf on ravelry and it looks great. The yarn looks lovely and silky – so pretty.

    • Pero permalink
      March 8, 2011 2:18 pm

      Hi Kittyboo, I really love the scarf and want to have a go, I’m a beginner but I have done a few scarfs before.

      I am a little bit confused about the pattern instructions, when you say miss 1 ch and 3 tr, do you mean count the 3tr in the line below and miss them then do the 3 tr?
      When you say do 3tr in first 2ch spaces ch 2, 3 tr into same ch space, does that mean I will end up with 3tr in one space and 6tr in the second space.
      Also how do you do a tr in the tr below?

      Please help.

  10. January 17, 2009 6:12 pm

    Hiya, I made two scarves to this pattern for Christmas, although I finished them a little late (last Thursday!) and so only one has gone to its recipient so far. She loved it! I did that one in a plain white crochet cotton, with five ‘shells’ to each row. I’m just about to post a picture of that on my blog. Then I’ve also done another one for another friend made with a silky brown and gold double knit yarn, but for that one I made it quite narrow with only three ‘shells’ per row as I only had two balls of the yarn and I wanted it to be a decent length.

    I loved making these scarves and I’m hoping to use the stitch to make myself a lacy over-top for the summer. Thanks very much for posting it!

  11. January 18, 2009 12:55 pm

    You’re very welcome Jennie! Glad you liked the pattern – just taken a look at your scarf and its lovely – the cotton makes it look so delicate.

  12. February 22, 2009 7:07 am

    Hey – I have been wanting to do this pattern since I found it a few months ago…. finally did! Posted pics: http://burritowest.blogspot.com/

    Thanks so much for all the wonderful lace projects!

  13. October 6, 2009 2:33 pm

    Lovely…I just added a link to this in my blog..I saw your claudia scarf on ravelry loved it and modified it..Then later realized it was similar to this one. So instead of writing up my own pattern I linked to yours 🙂

    I

  14. Emily permalink
    January 14, 2010 2:16 am

    Hi! Beautiful pattern. I’m using a slightly heavier-weight alpaca yarn with a size H hook. I’m using the pattern as is, and it’s turning into a wider wrap/shawl.

    I found a way to rejoin to the foundation chain when you get to the half-way point that makes the seam virtually invisible. I use the parts of the starting chain to count as DCs for the first row of the 2nd half. Here:

    To pick up from the starting chain to work the 2nd half of scarf:

    Tie knot to hook to start.
    Sl St to 3rd chain on the starting chain corner (counts as 1st DC of 6).
    **DC 2, Ch 2, DC 2 in hole.
    Sl St in 3rd, 4th, and 5th ch (AKA, the chain to the right of the single DC post, the chain on top of the DC post, and the chain to the left of the DC post). (counts as 6th DC of previous group, and 1st DC of next 6-DC group)
    Repeat from ** across.

    Note: when I Sl St into a chain stitch, I carefully insert the hook into 1 or 2 out of the 3 strands, rather than Slip Stitching around the whole chain. I find this to be more stable.

    When you finish this row, continue as before — the “Row 2” instructions above.

    -E

  15. May 11, 2010 10:31 am

    Such a pleasant write-up! I am so glad you decided to talk about it.

  16. Kelly permalink
    May 24, 2010 3:28 am

    Cute idea, I had seem this stitch on mypicot long ago
    http://www.mypicot.com/crochet_patterns_opl2030.html

    but wasnt sure what would look nice! I like using the larger hook with the lighter weight yarn, very nice effect.

  17. sara permalink
    June 11, 2010 2:20 pm

    someone is selling this pattern on ebay thought I would let you know
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Cassia-Scarf-Crochet-Pattern-/230443281287?cmd=ViewItem&pt=US_Crocheting_Knitting_Patterns&hash=item35a77d6b87

  18. amadea permalink
    October 10, 2010 4:34 am

    thx 4 d’pattern ..
    it looks so b’tiful n’ nice..
    good job !!

  19. Laurel permalink
    December 2, 2010 10:39 pm

    Thank you for you pattern. I have been wanting to find ways to convert knitted lace to crochet for a while. Thank you again. I am not as advanced or talented as you to create my own. I am still working on my skills. Most people here are basic crocheters (?) and some very gifted knitters. Currently, have taken a knitting class. It’s ok…but I can get more done in less time crocheting. Besides, mistakes are a real problem to fix (for me at this stage), so I will endeaver to press on with knitting after the holiday. Thanks again for a great pattern.

  20. Georgie permalink
    December 18, 2010 12:41 am

    This is a beautiful pattern. I’m going to try this one!

  21. Betsy Lilly permalink
    September 21, 2011 6:53 am

    Hi, Rebecca!!

    Can you give me an idea of the length and width of the finished Cassia Scarf (a lovely pattern, by the way). I’m looking at scarf and shawl patterns currently and, from the picture, the Cassia Scarf looks like it might be large enough to work as a lacy shawl.

    Thanks!
    Betsy Lilly

Trackbacks

  1. An ex-WIP! « Jennieworld Today
  2. Block Party! » Woolly Bytes

Leave a comment