Skip to content

Glutney

September 30, 2008

After ripening most of my remaining green tomatoes on the windowsill, I was left with a couple of handfuls of stubborn toms that just refused to ripen.

As there weren’t enough to be worth making Green Tomato Chutney, I started hunting around for an alternative recipe and decided to give the ‘Seasonal Chutney’ recipe in my lovely Preserves book (reviewed here) a go.

The result was phenomenal! I really think this is the best chutney recipe I’ve ever made. Ok, I know I haven’t sampled the matured chutney yet, but even straight from the pan it tasted delicious – fruity, rich and spicy with quite a kick! I think this is a recipe I will be using for many years to come.

One Comment leave one →
  1. thegardensmallholder permalink
    October 3, 2008 8:36 am

    Mmm sounds and looks delicious! I shall give it a try when we next have a glut.

Leave a Reply

