Skip to content

fire and ice

January 20, 2011

We’ve recently introduced a simple mealtime ritual: we say grace, light a candle then tuck in. This means our candle-usage has increased quite a bit so I’m always on the lookout for new ways to make and display the candles. When I saw this tutorial, I knew we’d have to give it a go. I loved making the frozen suncatchers so was keen to try more ice crafts.

The results were spectacular. There is something magical about the way the ice glows in the candle light. As the lantern began to melt, the candle floated in its own pool of glistening water. I love the elemental nature of the project too – fire and ice – simple, natural and beautiful. My daughter was equally enchanted.

I anticipate many more of these lanterns will grace our dinner table before winter is over.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 7:54 pm

    Awesome! Such a beautiful, and clever idea! 🙂

  2. January 20, 2011 8:18 pm

    Oh, this is pure magic! Absolutely beautiful. Your daughter will have such a magical childhood to reflect back on all her life! I love seeing the beautiful things you and your family do.

    • January 20, 2011 8:27 pm

      thank you – I do try to give her an element of enchantment in her upbringing. Modern living can be rather lacking in magic and wonder so I try to make up for that! 🙂

  3. January 20, 2011 9:31 pm

    Magical! I can’t wait for our next cold snap.

  4. January 21, 2011 2:57 pm

    Beautiful! I love the fact that it’s so simple but so effective and completely natural too! Fantastic idea! 🙂

  5. January 21, 2011 6:55 pm

    Wow – that looks totally amazing and magical – just looking at it is completely enchanting.

    Have a fabulous weekend,

    Nina xx

  6. January 22, 2011 6:24 pm

    Hey thanks for the link love!

    Ice with nature is just so, so beautiful.
    We haven’t made any suncatchers yet, this year (ours were from a year ago), but if it stays cold, we certainly will.

    The candles and ice are spectacular together, aren’t they? Even unlit they’re gorgeous, sitting on the front porch. 🙂

  7. January 23, 2011 10:13 am

    Oh this is a beautiful idea! Thank you so much for sharing it on my creative fridays!!

    xx

  8. January 23, 2011 6:48 pm

    wow, I want to make these with my little ones! You have such a beautiful blog!

    • January 23, 2011 6:57 pm

      thank you – they’re fun to make and look so lovely and sparkly in the candlelight.

  9. February 8, 2011 9:06 pm

    Gorgeous! I have to try decorating the ice lantern next time we make one.
    Luciana

  10. Little Skew permalink
    August 23, 2011 10:52 am

    Not only are your creations beautiful but your pictures are just as enchanting

  11. November 9, 2011 3:32 am

    I am so glad I just found this, winter is coming soon here and I’ll be making this with my kids for sure! I really like your blog by the way, it’s so lovely!

  12. January 30, 2012 1:37 pm

    so simple and beautiful!

Leave a Reply

