Skip to content

Blossom

January 17, 2011

Meet Blossom:

I’m very proud of Blossom. Ok, perhaps the stitches could be a little neater and she did take the best part of an afternoon to make, but she’s something I’ve sewn. Until recently, I considered myself as someone who can’t sew – in fact I was rather scared of sewing. It seemed to me to be something fiddly, frustrating and requiring greater dexterity than I possessed – not that I’d ever really tried, I just knew. Silly really, given all the other crafts I do but I had quite a hang up about sewing. I’d tried to learn before but made the mistake of trying to start off with a sewing machine. It didn’t go well. The sewing machine has been out of its box twice. I’m not sure what made me decide to give it another go but I’m so glad I did. What I’m discovering is that, as with so many things, patience, practice and perseverance really do pay off.

I’m now planning a whole range of little flower dolls – snowdrops and daffodils for next month’s nature table are top of my list – and maybe one day soon I might pluck up the courage to make a proper full-size waldorf doll. If anyone reading this fancies making their own little Blossom, she’s available as a kit fromDe Witten Engel. I got mine from myriad. There are lots of other plants and flowers in the range – holly, snowdrops, and toadstools to name a few – all of them lovely!

Thanks for taking a peek.

xxx

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 7:50 pm

    How lovely! You should definately do a whole range of little flower dolls, blossom is beautiful! I want to make one. Sewing’s not so scary once you’ve done a few good projects. It’s much like driving really, scary at first, but automatic after you’ve been doing it for a few years 🙂

  2. January 17, 2011 7:51 pm

    Oh she’s absolutely beautiful! Everything a blossom should be 🙂

  3. January 17, 2011 8:35 pm

    She’s gorgeous! Well done, my girls would love some flower dolls just like it.

  4. January 18, 2011 1:52 am

    beautiful and dainty! great job, mama!

  5. January 23, 2011 6:36 pm

    Beautiful photo!
    I have been meaning to make some of these for our nature table.

  6. January 25, 2011 9:37 am

    that is totally adorable. Well done!

Leave a Reply

