Skip to content

Ice Art

December 19, 2010

It’s hard to know where to start after such a long absence. Should I bore you all with tedious excuses and stories of good intentions gone wrong? No, I don’t think that would be a good way to begin. Let’s just plunge back in….

I’ve admired these icy suncatchers on other peoples blogs so when the temperatures dropped last week, I though it was about time we made our own. Even though I’d seen them in pictures, I was still surprised by just how lovely they are – especially when the light catches them and the leaves and berries held within seem to glow….

If you’ve not made one before, they’re so simple. You just need a bowl or plate that won’t crack if it freezes (so enamel or plastic), some string, some leaves and berries (perhaps gathered on a nice frosty winter walk), some water and a very cold night. Arrange the leaves and berries in the bowl fill with a couple of centimetres of water, place string in and leave outside overnight to freeze. The next morning you’ll have your very own piece of beautiful, ephemeral art!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 10:15 pm

    I saw those on the Woodland Trust Nature Detectives site and thought I’d give them a go – they look wonderful.

    Nice to see you back BTW 🙂

  2. December 20, 2010 11:38 am

    So beautiful. Even though I’m in the wrong hemisphere for this kind of thing I’m pretty tempted to employ my freezer and enjoy these anyway (for a few minutes until they melt…) I specially love the berries in yours!

  3. December 20, 2010 12:25 pm

    What a beautiful idea.. I would love to try this… thanks!!

  4. December 21, 2010 2:17 pm

    Hi Rebecca ‘hellllo’ – I love the sun catcher and what a beautiful way to add some colour to the garden.

    take care and ‘Merry Christmas’

    Nina xxxx

  5. December 30, 2010 10:55 pm

    You’re right – these are beautiful…I may have to wait for a warm spell though, to find some leaves and make my own…. Unless I can find a few persistent beech leaves clinging to the branches.

  6. January 14, 2011 4:24 am

    This absolutely fantastical 😉 my littles & I are definitely going to follow your lead & try this.

Trackbacks

  1. fire and ice « A little slice of life…

Leave a Reply

