Skip to content

Finished Object Friday: Another Armorique

April 23, 2010

Pattern: Armorique by Eclat Du Soleil

Yarn: UK Alpaca Baby Alpaca/Merino DK (50g) x 4

Colourway: Buttermilk

Hook: 5.00mm

Notes: I’d been asked to make this for a friend who keeps alpaca. She’d seen the previous shawl I’d made using Rowan Kidsilk Haze and wanted me to make her the shawl using some alpaca yarn that she supplied. As it was DK, rather than the fingering weight yarn specified in the pattern, I used a larger hook to ensure laciness and drape, and made fewer rows and a smaller border. I’m really pleased how it turned out. I must confess to a few moments of doubt about the suitability of the yarn but blocking utterly transformed the piece. Only problem now is that I’m not sure I want to part with it…. 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 4:10 pm

    Beautiful! I would find it hard to part with as well. All of your work is so lovely – great job!

  2. April 23, 2010 5:03 pm

    That is so pretty – not sure it would be very practical doing the animals and the garden though !!

  3. April 24, 2010 8:23 pm

    Just lovely!

  4. April 25, 2010 11:01 am

    Ooh, it’s beautiful! The structure of the pattern is stunning, like carved decorative woodwork or something! It will be hard to part with but I’m sure your friend will love it! 🙂 x x

  5. May 2, 2010 1:59 pm

    The lace pattern is very pretty. You’ll just have to make another one for you!

  6. November 14, 2010 11:13 pm

    I LOVE the drape, you have made such a gorgeous piece and I dont blame you for not wanting to part with it. Sometimes its too easy to imagine what you would wear with something you are making, kind of like it sneaks into your mind’s wardrobe!

  7. December 19, 2010 8:20 pm

    That is so beautiful!

    • December 19, 2010 8:36 pm

      Thank you. I’ve been neglecting this blog for such a long time but I hope to start posting again more regularly. Reading yours and all the other lovely blogs out there has provided the insporation to start me off again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

