Skip to content

FO Friday: Mum’s Bedjacket

March 19, 2010

Pattern: Soft Serve by Doris Chan (published in Everyday Crochet)

Yarn: Rowan Pure Silk DK 50g x 5

Colour: Sandstone

Hook: 6.00mm

Pattern Notes: This was my first time trying out a Doris Chan pattern and let me tell you, I’m seriously impressed. I love how the jacket is all worked in one piece, with increases shaping the shoulders and arms, so that no seaming is required – a big plus for me as my sewing skills leave a lot to be desired! I’ll definitely be trying out some more of Doris Chan’s patterns – they seem to me to be technically very clever but also produce really lovely results.

Yarn Notes: I made this as a gift for my Mum. As it was a special birthday, I wanted to use special yarn so went for the pure silk. I was a bit worried about getting gauge with DK as the pattern calls for heavier weight yarn but it turned out not to be a problem. I’ve since seen some lovely examples on ravelry of people using 4ply too – so the pattern seems to work well with a range of yarn weights.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mutti permalink
    March 19, 2010 7:06 pm

    This is so beautiful, that it’s almost too nice to wear in bed!

  2. March 22, 2010 12:39 pm

    beautiful.

    I’ve had that book for a while but never made anything from it… thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

