Skip to content

FO Friday: Chanson En Crochet

March 5, 2010

Pattern: Chanson En Crochet (available for free here)

Yarn: Rowan Summer Tweed (70% Silk 30% Cotton) 50g x 4

Colour: Exotic

Hook: 5.5mm

Modifications: No major ones – simply omitted the buttonhole as I wanted to use a vintage brooch instead.

Notes: I was very doubtful about my yarn choice all the way through this project and there were a couple of times that I came close to ripping it back and using it for something else. It just seemed much too stiff and chunky for the capelet but I’m pleased to say that it blocked up wonderfully and I’m happy with the end result. I found the brooch at my local flea market and it seemed made for the yarn. Oh, if you’re going to give this a go, make sure you download the errata as well as the pattern.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Mutti permalink
    March 5, 2010 3:49 pm

    What a stunning design and colour! Beautiful!
    See you at The Monmouth Women’s Festival at the Bridge Gallery next week.

  2. March 5, 2010 4:05 pm

    Lovely! I favorited this pattern on Ravelry just the other day – I love your color choice and the tip about the errata!

  3. March 5, 2010 4:07 pm

    HAHA – I just looked at when “the other day” was and it was actually several months ago – my concept of time must be broken!

  4. wolfcrochet permalink
    March 5, 2010 9:23 pm

    That turned out lovely! I’ve been eying up that pattern for a few years now but since I’m not a “lacy” kind of person, I keep passing it up…

  5. Michelle permalink
    March 5, 2010 10:01 pm

    It came up lovely. I just made the same pattern in almost the same color, and it really is a pretty design!

  6. March 6, 2010 7:17 pm

    A gorgeous crochet project and I like the colour you’ve chosen – perfect for any season.

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend,

    Nina x

  7. March 6, 2010 11:26 pm

    wow, I love the colour and how it came out. I think I’ve got a brooch just like that which I picked up from a car boot sale last year. thanks for posting the pattern link, I might have to make one now that I’ve seen yours.

  8. March 11, 2010 7:58 pm

    Thanks for all the lovely comments!
    xxx

  9. September 28, 2011 8:36 am

    So lovely !!!!

  10. Heather permalink
    February 25, 2012 7:51 pm

    Beautiful, where did you find the pattern?

  11. Heather permalink
    February 25, 2012 7:51 pm

    Oh–just saw the pattern link! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

