Skip to content

Three Castles

January 10, 2010

Living in the Welsh Marches we’re rather spoilt for choice when it comes to castles. One of our favourite days out is to visit the ‘Three Castles’ of Skenfrith, White Castle and Grosmont. We were lucky enough to visit them on a foggy, frosty day recently that was wonderfully atmospheric….

All three castles were established during the 11th century as part of the Norman Conquest of South Wales although I think they differ a lot today in terms of atmosphere and position in the landscape.

In the summer we plan to walk between the three – no doubt stopping of for the odd restorative pint or two along the way…….


9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 8:26 pm

    brings back memories. we used to have a bike rally near the white castle afew years back:-)

  2. January 11, 2010 10:09 am

    my boys love castles!!!

    beautiful

  3. January 11, 2010 3:50 pm

    Beautiful! The closet thing we have to a castle in my area is the Biltmore Estate…..and it’s hardly the same thing! You’re a great photographer – I always enjoy your photos.

  4. January 11, 2010 7:37 pm

    welcome back!!

    …good for you for the stamina and determination needed to attend all your craft showsand to create the work needed for them…..

    …I understand completely.. different shows suit different vendors and craftwork… It is good to find out which ones work for you so you are better able to use your time and booth fees to your benefit.. all the best in preparation for next year!!

    …and oh my… how I would love to wander around some castles…. lucky you…

  5. January 15, 2010 7:08 pm

    looks like a great place to go walking…

  6. Jen permalink
    January 19, 2010 10:48 pm

    Gosh, these pictures make me miss home so much, and it’s been thirty years….
    Found your blog via Alicia’s Pozy gets cosy. I love it already!

  7. January 25, 2010 10:01 pm

    hey,

    i’m so glad to have you back. will you be posting some pics of your craft stalls from all the different fairs?

    • January 28, 2010 8:50 am

      Thanks very much – I’ve been debating whether to post a pic – I didn’t take a camera along with me so the only ones we have are some my mum took on her mobile at one of the fairs…..perhaps I’ll wait until the spring fairs and make sure I take a proper camera!

  8. October 18, 2010 5:37 pm

    Hi Rebecca, I love castles.. wish we had some here.. the history of your part of the world is fascinating!! Thanks for sharing these…

Leave a Reply

