Skip to content

An update

January 5, 2010

It’s hard knowing where to begin after such a long absence. I guess an explanation might be a good place to start! Now, I know to say ‘I’ve been busy’ sounds rather lame but the truth is I really have been extremely busy. The run up to Christmas was craft fair season so I had my work cut out trying to make enough things to sell – in fact I turned into a bit of a human production line and all my spare time (i.e the time when my daughter is asleep:) ) was devoted to crochet….

This winter was very much a case of dipping a toe in the water and seeing what worked best – specifically which sort of fairs suited me best and which products sold well. The fairs I attended were all very different – some indoors, some out – some in churches, some in fancy hotels. In financial terms, all the craft fairs went well but my enjoyment of them varied a good deal. My favourite by far was the Worcester Arts and Vintage Fair basically because it was such a lovely, friendly atmosphere and I think atmosphere counts for such a lot – both for buyers and sellers. For me, being a craftsperson isn’t about the financial rewards (I’d be a bit deluded if it was!) – it’s more important to me to do something I enjoy and that sits comfortably with my beliefs about sustainability….. so, I don’t see the point in doing fairs I don’t enjoy and next year I plan to be more selective.

Another big lesson I learnt was to make more stock! At every fair I sold out of certain products and had a manic rush in between fairs to make more items. Well – lesson learnt -it may sound a bit extreme, but I plan on starting making my stock for next winter in a few days time!

Hmmm, that’s all for now. I hope to start posting a bit more regularly from now on. Before I go though I’d just like to say thank you for all the comments and emails I’ve been getting from you lovely people out there in cyberspace. I’m really very sorry that I haven’t been able to reply to everyone – I’ll try harder from now on!

xxx


6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 11:03 pm

    Been thinking about how you are getting on and glad to hear that that the answer is generally quite well!! Look forward to hearing more.

  2. January 6, 2010 10:57 am

    Lovely to hear from you again.
    I can empathise with the manic restocking between fairs (although I found that what sold well at one fair, after working into the night replenishing levels, would be a slow seller at the next fair!!)
    I’m currently making xmas stockings – I’m not necessarily being ultra organised but with all the snow I’m feeling ‘Christmasey’ all over again.
    Happy New Year
    Louise
    x

  3. January 6, 2010 12:28 pm

    Good to find you posting again and glad to hear that your craft fairs went so well.

  4. January 7, 2010 5:48 pm

    You’re back! I’m glad things are ok and your craft fairs went well!

    🙂 x x

  5. January 10, 2010 8:05 pm

    Thanks very much for the warm welcome back!
    xxx

  6. January 15, 2010 4:14 pm

    glad you found the fairs succcessful – should be even better next time now you know what you like.

    I find the prospect very nerve racking…

Leave a Reply

