Skip to content

Food Fest

September 20, 2009

foodfest

Well, the Abergavenny Food Festival has ended for another year and we’re left with happy memories, a full fridge and even fuller bellies.

I didn’t take pics this year (was too busy shoveling food into my mouth) but you can get a sense of things from last years photos here.

As usual, I blew the weeks food money in a single weekend but it was worth it! I got to try my first ever oyster (which I loved, much to my surprise), bought indecent amounts of cheese and ‘sampled’ every perry available. We certainly had a merry time!

Highlights included Kid Me Not Goat’s Milk Fudge, Simon Weaver’s Blue Brie, Menai Oysters, Wernddu Perry (yes, I know I’m biased but it really is good), Gorwydd Caerphilly (the best Caerphilly cheese in the world), Lahloo Tea and the wonderful Made in Monmouthshire area which I hope to be part of next year.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dowhatyoulove permalink
    September 20, 2009 5:43 pm

    Sounds like a great weekend! It’s great to expand yourself through trying new tastes and combinations. Hope you enjoy the food you brought home!

  2. alifelesssimple permalink
    September 20, 2009 8:04 pm

    I still haven’t managed to ever get to Abergavenny Food Festival but would love to.

    I have a very foodie week planned starting next week, on Saturday the Dean Heritage Centre has it’s Fungi Weekend, then the weekend after I am off to The Big Feast at the Centre for Alternative Technology on the 3rd, then the Forest Food Showcase on the 4th

  3. September 23, 2009 8:34 pm

    Mmm… sounds tasty! Wales seems to be the place to go for lovely perry, we always seem to come across some when we’re there!

    Its great that the organisers have a crafty section to the event. You’ll have loads of fun there next year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

