Skip to content

Why I’ve been so quiet…. (and a giveaway)

August 30, 2009

Poor blog – I’ve been neglecting you of late! In my defense, it’s hard to type when clutching a crochet hook and it’s rare to find myself without one in my hand these days! The reason is, I’ve been working on quite a few crochet designs – some of these have been commissions for Wernddu Alpacas which will be sold as part of a kit – pattern plus alpaca yarn – but I’ve also been working on my own patterns for sale and am pleased to present my first offering…..

etsy-red

These little wristwarmers are very cute, quick to make and use less than a 50g ball of yarn.  What more could you ask for? I’m a little in love with them…..

etsy-button

The pattern includes instructions for three different cuff styles – ribbed, ribboned or buttoned – so there should be something (I hope!) to suit all tastes.

etsy-rib

The pattern is available for purchase in my etsy shop (price in dollars) or in GBP through Ravelry here.

I’m also finalizing a special autumn themed neckwarmer which I hope to have ready for sale in the next few days. In the meantime, here’s a sneaky peek…..

fallleaves

Now, onto the giveaway….This is a very new venture for me so I’d love to here what people think of the designs. Are they the sort of things you might be tempted to make? Do you prefer to buy pattern pdfs online or do you favour a hard-copy print out? Also, any tips for selling? I’m considering also setting up a shop on Folksy but I’m not sure how well known it is. As a little incentive for you to share your thoughts, each person who comments will be entered into a draw to win a free pattern pdf – for either the wristwarmers or the neckwarmer (when it’s complete) – so please state your preference in your comment.

Finally, I hope you don’t mind me mentioning the shop on here. I don’t plan to bang on about it all the time I assure you. I don’t view this blog as a platform for advertising – it’s a place where I can share my thoughts, hopes and dreams (oh, and plenty of recipes for jam). However, as crochet design is coming quite a significant part of my life, I can’t really ignore it now can I? 🙂

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 4:24 pm

    the patterns look great! very wearable and simple and cute! my 2 cents: i sell as many patterns on etsy as I do on ravelry (if not more) so I think it’s worth opening a shop elsewhere… i don’t think a lot of crocheters are on ravelry, for some reason! good luck!

  2. August 30, 2009 4:27 pm

    I wouldlove to have a book, but it’s easier to get overseas pattern via internet
    Your designs are cute 🙂

  3. Mutti permalink
    August 30, 2009 6:36 pm

    Beautiful, original designs. I love the autumn colours.

  4. August 30, 2009 6:59 pm

    I prefer now to get pdf patterns because I can save them and reprint as many times as I need (I’m not organised and frequently lose things!). In an ideal world of alphabetised files of patterns, I’d prefer hard copy, but I’m learning to put up with what I was given, brain wise!

    I love the wrist warmers; I can already think of at least three people who would be very happy to get these from me for Christmas!

    I’ve heard of Folksy but have never looked at it. Etsy I find quite hard to use as I don’t think the internal search engine is very well organised, and unless I have a direct link to a shop, I find it very difficult to find what I’m looking for. I LOVE Ravelry, and frequently search for patterns there. I’ve been known to buy through Rav, but I think the disadvantage for designers trying to sell through Rav is the number of free patterns available, which tempt you away from the not-free ones!

    A friend of mine has just had her first patterns published in a magazine – might this be an avenue you would consider?

  5. August 30, 2009 7:04 pm

    I love these designs! How exciting to be working on patterns to sell! I’d like to have a go at the wristwarmers, they look very useful and really cute!

    I haven’t bought any patterns on Etsy, Ravelry etc so far but I think pdfs are a good option, saves on paper and postage (more environmentally friendly!) and people can usually print off a copy themselves if they want to.

    I like the way you’ve displayed and photographed the neckwarmer, your dress form (is that what they’re called? The body-shaped display thing!) is a nice simple design that doesn’t detract from the neckwarmer.

  6. August 31, 2009 8:16 am

    I have to say firstly I love both the wrist warmers and colours they are gorgeous and with the buttons you’ve used they look perfect.

    When it comes to patterns I will always prefer a hard copy though that is not to say people can’t print a pdf off but for some though I guess that isn’t always an option, but a pdf is less costly than you having to get your patterns printed then posted.

    I also think Folksy is starting to become more well know as I do know friends that sell successfully through them, but to be honest until I started blogging I had never heard of them.

    Maybe start small with pdf’s and see how that goes – at least then you’ve not lost anything but your time.

    Hope that helps?? Have a lovely week,

    Nina x

  7. August 31, 2009 1:52 pm

    very beautiful!

    I find pdf files a very easy option. And given I’m quite prone to loose things it’s good to have a reprintable option stored somewhere!!

  8. Kimberly B. permalink
    September 2, 2009 4:52 am

    I like both patterns, but since I have a ton of wrist-warmers, I think I’d probably choose the neck-warmer instead.
    I really like the instant gratification of pdf patterns,and I like that I can print up multiple copies if I lose one. I haven’t purchased a pattern before on Etsy,although I shop there all the time; on the other hand, I use Ravelry for patterns all the time. And I haven’t heard of Folksy personally.

  9. Kelsey permalink
    September 3, 2009 7:57 pm

    I love both, and would happily make either pattern as I am beginning to make both neck and wrist warmers for Christmas gifts. I think I would prefer the wrist warmer patterns, as I would like to make them for myself!

    I am much happier to download a pdf pattern, as I end up with a scribbled-on pattern at the end of any project, and like the security of having a file to re-print should I drop my pattern on a wet coffee shop floor or spill my drink on it or some other awful thing. I have shopped on Etsy, although find that I am easily distracted away from whatever I was looking for in the first place (go on looking for local children’s furniture, and end up looking at art prints done by someone in Brazil ,or something like that). I have not heard of Folksy, but will go and check it out.

  10. September 6, 2009 2:07 pm

    Wow you have been busy.
    I have just got to make some of those wristwarmers. They would be perfect for chilly sunday mornings at the carboot sale to keep my fingers free (normally I’m forever taking my gloves off an have to back track to find the one I’ve dropped!!).
    I prefer PDF patterns but I guess it’s sensible to offer a hard copy upon request. I’ve seen people offering laminated pattern copies but this would put me off as I like to annotate mine for future reference. N.B. on eBay (if you were having an outlet there too!) you can’t sell PDF at all – only hard files.
    I’m off to your shop 🙂

Leave a Reply

