Skip to content

Fleecy

August 15, 2009

Last weekend I took advantage of a rare spot of sunshine and finally got round to sorting and washing my fleeces.

fleecesort2

It was no easy task! For those of you who don’t spin, a sheep’s fleece isn’t usually uniform in it’s fineness or staple length throughout – some parts are coarser and others are softer making it necessary to ‘sort’ the fleece.  Although it’s easy to tell the difference between the coarsest parts and the finest part, the gradations in between can present a bit more of a challenge to a novice like me. It was good experience though and I guess the more fleeces you handle, the easier it becomes. Just need to spin it all now 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2009 10:45 am

    Ooh, nice fleecy close up! Is that the Jacob fleece? It must make things even more complicated when there are different colours to sort as well as textures! Looking forward to seeing what you make 🙂

  2. August 16, 2009 6:05 pm

    Thanks – yep, it’s the Jacob. I’m planning on keeping the colours separate rather than blending and then maybe plying two strands of different colours together…..

  3. Heidi permalink
    September 13, 2009 5:25 am

    Wow…. how can we be a world apart and doing similar things? We just had our Suffolk sheep shorn, and now I’m looking at the fleece and thinking… where do I start? What is the easiest way to sort it, and what am I meant to be doing? Do I then give it a wash or do I do it first? If all else fails I’ll be using it for mulch on the vegie garden.
    A little bit about me – Mum to four children, live on an 18 acre hobby farm in Northern New South Wales, Australia. I’ve got sheep for our meat, hens for eggs and meat, a Jersey Cow for our milk and milk products, and a dog, cat and three horses for reasons I’m still trying to work out! And yes, I am TIRED!!! Thanks for you earlier reply regarding cellophane disks and preserving.
    Will keep your site “bookmarked” so I can follow you in your journey!
    Best wishes, Heidi

Leave a Reply

