Skip to content

Surprisingly nice…

August 3, 2009

courgettejam3

Now, I’m guessing that when most people think of courgettes, jam isn’t the first thing that springs to mind! It certainly wasn’t for me but, as I now have a freezer full of ratatouille and soup plus enough chutney to feed most of Wales, I thought I’d try something a bit different.

I’d heard of using marrows for jam so hoped that overgrown courgettes would work too. As I had no idea how much pectin (if any) courgettes contain, I hedged my bets and used half jam sugar and half granulated. The resulting jam was surprisingly nice with the ginger being the dominant flavour. So, before you think ‘courgette jam…yuk!’, why not give it a try……

courgettejam1

Courgette and Ginger Jam

Makes approx. 4 small-medium jarfulls

  • 1kg overgrown courgette (or marrow), peeled, deseeded and cut into 1cm dice (quantity refers to prepared weight)
  • 500g granulated sugar
  • 500g jam sugar (the stuff with added pectin)
  • 75g crystallized ginger, finely chopped
  • juice of 1 lemon

Place chopped courgette, ginger and sugar in a preserving pan and leave for a minimum of 4 hours or overnight if possible. Gently heat and stir well until all the sugar has dissolved. Add the lemon juice and bring to a rolling boil. Test for set after approximately 25 minutes (my batch took a little over 30 minutes to reach setting point but this will vary depending on how watery your courgettes are). When setting point is reached, remove from heat and stir a few times then pour into hot sterilised jars and seal.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2009 2:50 pm

    Nice suggestion, thank you I’m going to try that, I’ve just posted another ratatouille recipie this weekend, the internet must be awash with them. If only I’d read your jam recipie first, and I’ve just ordered a new jam seive so that’s handy.

  2. annaelizc permalink
    August 3, 2009 4:18 pm

    So many courgette recipes on wordpress at the moment, but this definitely looks the yummiest! I love ginger 🙂 My 2 courgette plants fell over and snapped though, so will be saving this recipe to try next year 🙂

  3. August 3, 2009 6:47 pm

    I didn’t even realise that courgette jam existed! It sounds lovely though and looks beautiful in the jars. You should definitely win some kind of prize for most inventive and extensive use of courgettes! 🙂

  4. August 3, 2009 7:51 pm

    Very interesting!

    Nina x

  5. August 4, 2009 5:25 am

    Mmmm, I was late planting my my courgettes so if they survive, I might try and talk Jennie into have a go!

    I have to admit, I would never have thought of using courgettes for jam, not even in my wildest dreams!

  6. August 4, 2009 2:36 pm

    Courgette jam…sounds exotic. Another use for zucchini: bread/muffins. Delicious.

  7. Karen @ The Garden Smallholder permalink
    August 8, 2009 7:58 am

    Would never have thought of making jam with my marrows (whoopsie) or courgettes (when I harvest them on time) but the hens have been enjoying them as a treat!

Leave a Reply

