Skip to content

Strawberry Jam

July 10, 2009

strawbjam2

Ah, nothing like a spot of jam-making to perk you up…. or is that just me?! Now, I must confess, I’m not usually a fan of strawberry jam – I find it over sweet and prefer my jams on the sharper side. However, when I spotted Pam Corbin’s recipe in the River Cottage Preserves Book and saw that the proportion of sugar to fruit was relatively low when compared to other recipes, I thought it was worth a try.

strawbjam

I’m glad I did! The resulting jam is very fruity and the addition of lemon juice really helps the flavour. It’s a pretty jam too – jewel bright and with ruby chunks of fruit suspended within. I know I’ve recommended Pam Corbin’s book before but I’m going to do it again – it’s the best book on jam-making and preserving I’ve encountered. Everyone should own a copy!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 7:59 am

    hmmm…may have to have a look at this one. I don’t normally like jam (except on peanut butter sandwiches 😉 ), but something a bit more fruity might do the trick.

  2. July 10, 2009 8:06 am

    my husband is the jam maker here and he has made both gooseberry and strawberry so far this year… last year we combined some homemade strawberry jam with pam’s book as a present to my sister. .. can’t wait for the blackberries!
    x

  3. July 10, 2009 8:28 am

    Is that ‘Pam the Jam’ from the programme? I’ve only made jam once and I have a few bags of preserving sugar left so I might try this – yours look lovely, so bright and jewel like!

  4. July 10, 2009 11:40 am

    It’s my birthday soon and as Mum sends money I thought I’d treat myself to this book. Sounds like I have made a good chioice.

    Rosie x

  5. July 10, 2009 3:02 pm

    Yum. This might be a silly question, but does the jam keep well with just a plastic cover (or is that temporary)?

    • July 10, 2009 4:33 pm

      Hi wil, yes the jam keeps fine with the cellophane cover – it supposedly keeps for up to a year but ours usually gets scoffed a long time before that! The jam is also sealed with a waxed discs – the wax melts when it comes into contact with the hot jam and makes a seal – I guess the use of discs stems from the more traditional way of sealing preserves with wax. When you put the cellophane cover on, you moisten it slightly so that as it dries it shrinks and gives a good seal. You did ask……. 🙂

  6. July 10, 2009 4:43 pm

    Yummy! Strawberries!

  7. July 12, 2009 9:53 am

    Wow, gorgeous jam photos! I’m not usually a fan of strawberry jam but a good homemade one is a completely different animal to shop-bought (even the good quality stuff). We had a jar from my boyfriend’s Mum last year and it still makes my mouth water thinking about it now!

    I agree with you about the River Cottage preserves book, it’s brilliant! I made some onion marmalade from the recipe in there and it was delicious!

    x x

  8. Sara permalink
    July 12, 2009 3:34 pm

    Oh your jars of jam look wonderful, thanks to your review I ordered the book on Friday and received it the following morning. Thank you so much for the recommendation I love it! No more trawling through a million websites to find one good recipe!

    • July 12, 2009 4:11 pm

      Thank you – pleased you’re enjoying the book. It’s a real gem!

  9. Ana permalink
    January 2, 2010 12:18 am

    Recently Iwatch the episode of Pam Corbin making strawberry jam with Hugh (N.Z is six months behind in the river cottage series on t.v.). Now in the middle of strawberry season (Dec.) I made this DELICIOUS jam, adding her sugggestion of gooseberries. Pam’s idea of combining the two berries results in the best strawberry jam my family and I have ever tasted!!

  10. Karen Doherty permalink
    July 7, 2011 5:40 pm

    Help! I’m so confused…the recipe in Pam’s book calls for ONE TEASPOON of pectin. I used Sure Jell. It’s nowhere CLOSE to setting. The instructions in the box of pectin call for using a WHOLE box for 7 cups sugar. Pam’s recipe in the book calls for 4 and three quarters cups sugar…and only 1 teaspoon of pectin. Something is not right here!! So disappointed. Is the pectin powder different in england or something?

Leave a Reply

