Skip to content

Barter

July 2, 2009

Last week I managed to exchange a gallon of our Elderflower Champagne for these….

fleeces

The fleece on the left is from a Whitefaced Woodland and the one on the right came off a Jacob Sheep. I think I got a pretty good deal!

Other woolly goings-on this week have involved a spot of natural dyeing with Kamala extract….

kamala

and a spot of spinning……

jacob1

This was some jacob ‘humbug’ roving that was a dream to spin. I can see why Jacob is recommended to beginner spinners – it’s the easiest thing I’ve spun and, although not the softest fibre out there, it makes up for it by being wonderfully light and airy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 7:23 pm

    ooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! I think you got a the better end of the deal too!

  2. July 2, 2009 9:09 pm

    Those fleeces look fantastic! I’m really looking forward to seeing what you do with them. That’s another lovely bit of natural dyeing as well, a beautiful colour. And the Jacob humbug yarn looks great too! It is a lovely fibre to spin and seems particularly good for hardwearing stuff like bags, rugs etc.

    x x

  3. July 3, 2009 5:44 pm

    Wow that is amazing and to see the fleece all as one! I’m thinking ‘that’ is a bargain!

    Have a lovely weekend,

    Nina x

  4. alifelesssimple permalink
    July 4, 2009 11:03 pm

    I don’t know if you are already a member but there was 8 fleeces offered on monmouth freecycle this evening

  5. October 8, 2009 2:43 am

    What a great deal.. for both parties.. It makes my fingers tingle just seeing these rolled up fleeces…

    You baby has grown up since I was here.. she is a little girl now .. so Lovely… and your blog is so full of wonderful posts, it will take me a while to catch up.. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

