Skip to content

Fibre-fueled Friday

June 19, 2009

Well, I’ve finally finished spinning up my experimental madder dyed roving and thought you might like to see…

moremadder2

I’m pleased with how it’s turned out – I wanted a sort of semi-solid effect with subtle colour shifts and I think that’s pretty much what I got.

moremadder

In between ‘play dates’, cake baking (it’s someone special’s birthday party tomorrow) and jam-making, I also squeezed in a spot more dyeing. This time I used sanderswood and oak galls and ended up with this….

sanderswood

Again, a subtle colour but really rather lovely. One of the things I love about natural dyeing is how all the colours seem to compliment each other so well. See:

naturaldyeing1

Some of these you’ve seen before but, in case you need a reminder, from left to right we have:

nettle, oak galls plus sanderswood, acacia gum first dyebath, acacia gum exhaust, experimental madder, madder.

I love this picture – it makes me feel immensely proud. As well as being dyed by me, all the skeins except the sanderswood one were handspun by me. It makes me realise how far I’ve come with the whole spininng and dyeing lark…. which brings me on to an Annoucement …… drumroll please….. I’ve just booked a place at a craft fair – my first as a spinner/dyer/crocheter – so I’m excited and nervous in equal measure. The fair I’ve booked isn’t until the autumn so that should give me plenty of time to build up some stock. Although rather apprehensive as to whether my stuff is good enough to sell, I’m really keen to get back into the whole craft fair ‘scene’. I did a few fairs pre-baby (selling papercrafts) and I really loved getting to meet customers face-to-face – online selling certainly has it’s advantages but I get a real buzz from chatting to people about my items, explaining how they were made and being able to share my enthusiasm. Craft fairs are also great as you get to meet other craftspeople who are exhibiting, have a chin-wag and admire their work. I must admit though, I often ended up spending more than I earned as I found it impossible to resist all the lovely items on offer! Anyhow, enough gushing about all that…on to gushing about something else. Take a look at what landed on my doorstep today….


zwartbles

It’s some lovely raw Zwartbles fleece, sent by a fellow blogger, Colour it Green. I’m really touched by her generosity and am looking forward to having a go at spinning it. One more breed to cross off my list of fleeces to try….. and yes, I really do have such a list……..

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2009 7:15 am

    The colour of the madder dyed yarn is really beautiful…and so is the array of your handspun wool ~ no wonder you’re proud. =]

  2. June 20, 2009 7:26 am

    Your spinning is so lovely, you should feel really proud. I particularly like the madder skeins. I agree about the natural colours going together, I love autumn colours, creams and beiges and natural dyes are so good for those. I haven’t done any dyeing for a couple of years but your photos are tempting me to have another go.

    Completely off topic! – but how are the broad beans getting on, did you find any beans amongst the blackened flowers?

    • June 20, 2009 9:05 am

      Thank you – hope you give it a go! Regarding the broad beans, there are one or two beans on some of the plants but not many and they don’t look particularly healthy specimens…. not sure if I fancy eating them! Still, I’m being adequately compensated by plenty of lovely sugar snap peas at the moment so it’s not all bad… 🙂

  3. June 20, 2009 10:50 am

    It’s beautiful, you really succeded well with madder (which I don’t find easy, I don’t like when it gets too orange)

    • June 21, 2009 9:54 am

      Thank you. I’ve still not achieved the ‘tomato red’ that some people manage but I really like the orangey-red anyhow.

  4. June 20, 2009 11:08 am

    You’ll have to tell us more about the craft fair, so that those of us near enough can come and see you!

    • June 21, 2009 9:51 am

      Thank you – don’t worry – I’m sure I’ll be mentioning it a couple more times over the coming months…. 🙂

  5. June 20, 2009 9:33 pm

    oh i like the madder too. i would like to grow it too.. just dont know where to start..

  6. June 21, 2009 9:13 am

    The yarns look wonderful lined up like that – your stall would look so impressive. I had a stall recently and loved it – yes, it was nice to make a little profit but the best bit was chatting about my ‘stuff’ with like-minded folk. Whilst I love being at home I miss a good natter on topics that are not all about children!
    My ego took a whopping boost too as I had lots of praise about my handicrafts (it’s nice to have gushing comments about my labours rather than a half-hearted ‘that’s nice’ from my hubby!!) so I’ve been spurred on such that my craft room is a whirl of activity every evening.
    Good look with the stall
    x

    • June 21, 2009 9:59 am

      Thank you – October seems a long way off at the moment but I know I’ve really got to get cracking in order to avoid a last-minute mad rush!
      I’m glad your stall was such a success – not surprised though as the things you make are so lovely!

Leave a Reply

