Skip to content

Hubble Bubble….

June 12, 2009

mad+weld5

…more dyeing. My kitchen is starting to resemble a mad scientist’s laboratory!

mad+weld4

First off we have some bluefaced leciester dyed with weld. I must confess that I was expecting a much bolder colour but the pale lemony shade I ended up with is quite pretty so I’m not too disappointed.

mad+weld2

Next we have some more madder-dyed roving. I love spinning hand-painted rovings but as you can’t really hand-paint using natural dyes (unless you use extracts) I decided to experiment a bit to see if I could achieve different colours by other methods. The colour variations in this lot of wool were achieved by tightly packing the roving into the dyebath so that the wool was dyed unevenly. Although I like the effect, the method is rather hit and miss so next off I tried some dip-dyeing which resulted in this…

mad+weld3

To dip-dye I looped the wool around a stick and suspended the wool over the dyepot so  that half of each loop was submerged in my madder exhaust. I then simmering for 45 minutes or so before suspending the undyed parts in another dyebath made using some kamala extract and simmering for another 45 minutes. The wool used was some beautifully glossy teeswater and I love how it turned out. I can’t wait to spin it! I think I’ll definitely be repeating the dip-dyeing!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 12:42 pm

    love it!!! Can I please come over and play in your mad scientists lab? I’ll bring the cheese!!!!

    • June 12, 2009 3:15 pm

      thank you – sure, so long as it’s Stinking Bishop you bring…
      🙂

      • June 12, 2009 3:16 pm

        not an actual Stinking Bishop you understand… that wouldn’t be pleasant!

      • June 12, 2009 3:55 pm

        Oh you are a woman after my own heart. I love stinking bishop (of the cheese variety)

  2. June 12, 2009 2:02 pm

    Beautiful colours!

  3. June 13, 2009 1:58 pm

    The orangey~red wool is absolutely gorgeous! Clever you! =]

  4. June 13, 2009 10:52 pm

    So pretty!

  5. June 16, 2009 3:10 pm

    Beautiful colours – they remind me of raspberry ripple.

    Nina x

  6. June 17, 2009 10:34 am

    Wow, the BFL dyed with weld looks like some kind of vanilla and caramel ice cream! And that Teeswater is beautiful!

    The subtle colours you\’re getting with natural dyes are really lovely. Can\’t wait to see how things look once you\’ve spun them!

    x x

  7. June 19, 2009 5:31 pm

    It all looks so lovely (and incredibly soft!).

Leave a Reply

