Skip to content

Natural Dyeing: Acacia Gum

June 8, 2009

acacia6

This is the Shetland wool I dyed using Acacia Gum extract all spun and navajo plyed. I’m rather pleased with it – it’s a lovely unusual shade – not quite pink but not fully beige – I’ve dubbed it cafe au lait for now and think it’s a perfect shade for baby items. It’s feminine enough for a little girl whilst still having an earthiness about it – plus any alternative to the ubiquitous baby pink is good in my books! 

acacia4

I must confess, after some only partially successful natural dyeing with plant material this weekend (more on that in a future post), I’m starting to be seduced by the natural dye extracts. I think part of the reason is that I’m about to book a place at a craft show in autumn so the ability to repeat colours more accurately and speed up the dyeing process suddenly seem a lot more appealing!

acacia3

Of course there’s absolutely no reason why I need choose one method over the other and I imagine I’ll end up doing a bit of both – at least until I have room to grow my own dyeplants. 

acacia5

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2009 4:51 pm

    You’ve been very busy! I love the colour of this yarn and your navajo plying is looking fantastic! 🙂

  2. June 8, 2009 5:08 pm

    I’m always amazed at how you can dye so beautifully.

  3. June 8, 2009 5:18 pm

    Thank you both 🙂

  4. June 8, 2009 9:41 pm

    nice and subtle, like it 🙂

  5. June 9, 2009 6:46 am

    I do know what you mean about things you can gather and boil up yourself, but this really is a lovely colour. I look forward to seeing the other experiments you’ve hinted at!

  6. June 10, 2009 10:04 am

    I agee not quite beige though definitely not pink though gorgeous all the same.

    Nina x

Leave a Reply

