Skip to content

mellow yellow

May 31, 2009

I’ve finally managed to make something with some of my handspun – yay! Remember my onion dyed wool? Well it’s been transformed into this:

mellow1

For the main panel of the headscarf, I used the stitch pattern from Amy O’Neill Houck’s Alpine Frost Scarf (ravelry link) which was published in the Winter 2008 issue of Interweave Crochet. I worked up the panel until it was the right length to go from ear to ear on my then blocked it to open open the stitch pattern. After that, I rejoined the yarn and worked a row of double crochet followed by 8 rows of double crochet (US sc) reducing by 2 stitches per row (one at either end). I then switched to treble crochet for the narrow part of the scarf (purely because I find double crochet mind-numbingly slow) and continued until the scarf was almost long enough to go around my head. I then switched back to double crochet and started increasing by 2 stitches per row until the scarf matched the width of the panel again. I then joined the two ends with a row of double crochet.

mellow2

I really like the stitch I used. It’s beautiful and simple and I’ll definitely be making the scarf at some point – perhaps as a christmas present for someone… I’ve learnt that it’s never too early to start making christmas presents! 🙂

mellow3

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 9:38 pm

    Wow – that’s a lovely piece of knitting, and it looks good on you too. It’s so satisfying to wear something you’ve made, isn’t it?

  2. June 1, 2009 12:11 am

    oh, now that is just lovely 😉

  3. June 1, 2009 1:31 am

    I love that headscarf! it is so pretty and you are so talented!

  4. June 1, 2009 4:35 am

    Very lovely! I’m working on that Alpine Frost scarf right now (just took a break to check the internet!)… it’s slow going but should be pretty fabulous when done. never thought to do a headband…. great idea!

  5. June 1, 2009 8:19 am

    The colour has come out lovely and I love what you’ve made it into.

    Have a lovely week,

    Nina x

  6. June 1, 2009 5:04 pm

    Yay for making something so lovely from your own handspun, hand dyed yarn! 😀

  7. June 2, 2009 6:50 pm

    OH So lovley!

    Well done

  8. June 3, 2009 11:16 am

    beautiful.

    If only head scarf suited me… sigh.

  9. June 5, 2009 9:31 am

    That is really pretty. I love the stitch pattern – I’ve never seen that one before. Gorgeous sunny colour that yarn is too. Great work!

Leave a Reply

