Skip to content

Dawdle Days

May 22, 2009

walk2

Judging by the amount of groups, events and activities organized for them, children these days seem to require an awful lot of entertaining! Take the small town where we live for instance – if we wanted, my daughter could go along to an organized event every day of the week: toddler groups, soft play, baby gym sessions, storytimes and rhymetimes – to name just a few!

As it is, we go to two toddler groups and one music class a week plus the occasional trip to the soft play centre. Now, please don’t mistake me, I think toddler groups, soft play centers and the like have a lot to offer – they’re a great place for toddlers to fine tune skills such as balance and co-ordination, use up some excess energy and interact with other children. They’re also great for mums as they offer opportunities to socialize and usually provide one of the (all too) rare occasions in the week when you get a cuppa made for you!

However, I don’t think that they should be the be all and end all: it’s important for children to have a bit of variety, a bit of randomness and a chance to entertain themselves. I guess I worry that, if kids are continually entertained – either by tv, organised play or all-singing all-dancing electronic toys, then how will they learn to use their imaginations and be creative? If they’re continually cosseted in risk-free ‘safe’ environments, how will they learn to assess risk? If we constantly organize and ‘manage’ their play, how will they learn self-reliance and spontaneity? If they’re always indoors, how will they learn to appreciate the natural world?

snickerdoodles1

Personally, I choose to leave my daughter to her own devices from time to time in order that she at least gets chance to make her own entertainment. It doesn’t always work – if she’s tired and grumpy, she’ll refuse to play on her own and will soon be tugging at my legs. But more often than not, she’s quite content to play alone and I’m pleased to say that she’s quite an imaginative little thing. She’s particularly fond of playing with her ragdolls and will sing to them, pretend to feed and dress them, make them dance with each other or give them a ride on her rocking horse. I can’t resist sneakily peeking in on her sometimes as it’s just so heartwarming to see! 

painting1

As well as time to herself, I like us to have ‘dawdle days’ once or twice a week – days where we have nothing planned and can just go with the flow – no groups to attend, people to see or classes to go to. We can simply spend hours making daisy chains, painting pictures, baking biscuits, exploring the river banks or generally just mooching about.

snickerdoodles3

This morning was a good example of one of our dawdle days. It was wonderfully laid back and completely unplanned. I needed a few bits and pieces from the market so on the way back we stopped at the park for an hour. Baby Small had brought one of her dolls with her and after she’d played on the swings and slide, she insisted that dolly did too.

When we got home I fancied a spot of baking so checked to see what we could make with the limited ingredients I had to hand (remember this was unplanned baking!) and opted for snickerdoodles. Can you guess which ones mummy made and which baby made? 🙂

snickerdoodles2

Sometimes the best days really are those that are completely unplanned! Oh and if you’ve never tried snickerdoodles, do give them a try! You’re in for a treat…. 

 

xxx

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 1:41 pm

    Hi Rebecca,

    I love your post and couldn’t agree more. I too attend two toddler groups during a week which is fine and my little Tabi adores going though I find the parents can be a bit hit or miss sometimes especially if you get a group of them.

    So we opt for playdays and ‘go with the flow’ days and all of my children are at their happeist when left to explore by themselves, role play and make games up with out the interferance or structor that a grown up or parent can sometimes bring. I know it’s tough to leave them be sometimes in this over protective world we live in, but I don’t remember my parents constantly molly coddling me and the best times I had when I was a child was the freedom to make my own choices and do my own thing even if I was unaware of them keeping an eye on me! Which is what you would hope they would grow to be and not to be clingy like some children I know that are wrapped in cotton wool.

    Have a lovely day and weekend,

    take care,

    Nina x

  2. May 22, 2009 2:13 pm

    Those snickerdoodles look good. I had too much cinnamon sugar left over after making mine so kept it, and have found it’s lovely sprinkled on vanilla ice cream.

  3. May 22, 2009 2:51 pm

    How refreshing to read your post. My own three children, now in their 20s were raised in a very similar way to how you have described. For a good ten years or more I was a registered childminder and certainly in the latter years it was very noticable that the children in my care lacked the ability for imaginative play. One child I cared for had no idea how to splash in a puddle ! They were always driven everywhere in a car and didn’t go out if it rained ! How sad.

  4. May 22, 2009 7:16 pm

    Your philosophy of childrearing sounds nicely balanced. And snickerdoodles…yummy!

  5. May 23, 2009 8:59 am

    I won’t get started about wrapping kids in cotton wool( I think they miss out on so much) 🙂 thanks for dropping by.(spinning under the influence).must admit the yarn was rather textured!! At the next rally, the wife of one of my friends said that he hadn’t stopped talking about my spinning!!

  6. May 24, 2009 11:19 am

    I agree with you! Little people need time to just be…
    I love watching children when they are deeply involved in self~generated imaginative play ~ it’s so healthy for them.

Leave a Reply

