Skip to content

RWAS Smallholder and Garden Show

May 18, 2009

 

sheep

On Saturday we spent a wonderful day mooching around the Smallholder and Garden Show at the Royal Welsh Showground at Builth Wells.

As would-be smallholders, the day provided both information and inspiration. Naturally, there were lots of animals on show, plus talks, craft demonstrations, and tons of mouthwatering delights on offer at the Farmers Market.

smallholder4

Of course, I spent most of my time in the sheep area – eyeing up the rare breeds, watching a shearing demonstration, handling various fleeces and wondering how long a whole fleece would take me to spin….

smallholder1

In the end I didn’t buy a fleece but I did come home with some lovely hand-dyed rovings and an intention to get a fleece locally when my carding is up to scratch. 

In the Speakers Corner we listened to a discussion about the future of the sheep industry in Wales followed by a scary but ultimately inspiring talk about Peak Oil and Transition Towns. In fact, there was a distinctly ‘green’ feel to the show with a whole area dedicated to green technology and solutions.

smallholder7

Perhaps the best thing about the show though were the conversations we had. Everyone was so friendly! I had a lovely chat about natural dyeing with Emily from Llynfi textile company, got inspired talking to the Transition Network lady, met a fellow blogger and struck up a conversation with anyone I saw at a spinning wheel… 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 6:51 pm

    LOL, I thought I was going potty for a minute, just been reading two different blogs side by side about the Welsh Show – seem to have been plenty of bloggers there!

    http://faites-simple.blogspot.com/2009/05/wet-day-at-smallholders-show.html

    Marvellous sheep!

    • May 19, 2009 7:06 am

      thanks for the link – nice to hear what someone else thought of the show. Yes, the sheep were wonderful – I have many many pictures of them…. 🙂

  2. May 18, 2009 8:00 pm

    surprised you resisted buying a whole fleece!

    • May 19, 2009 7:12 am

      well, I did try at one point but the stallholder was busy with someone else. I know of a lady a few miles from where I live who has fleeces for sale though so thought it would be nice to buy from someone local plus I’m hoping to go to another wool festival soon so I’m sure there’ll be plenty of future opportunities for fleece buying! 🙂

  3. May 18, 2009 9:53 pm

    Sounds like a fun event. Cute pigs!

  4. May 18, 2009 10:58 pm

    Cute pictures!!!! Love the little piglets 🙂

  5. May 19, 2009 11:10 am

    I was at the smallholders show too! I love your pictures, especially the first one.

    Just discovered your blog through seeing your lovely naturally dyed yarn on Craftster 🙂

  6. May 19, 2009 1:02 pm

    Your pictures are much better than mine! It was fun wasn’t it though I think we’d have been better off going on Saturday as it got wetter and wetter while we were there.

    I reckon the smallholders show is perhaps more fun than the RW in the summer – the main event is of course spectacular but it’s a bit off putting to someone with not much more than a veg patch and a couple of chickens. The smallholders is very friendly.

    • May 19, 2009 1:17 pm

      I’d love to go to the Royal Welsh but don’t think we can manage it this year. It’s hard to get to the showground by public transport from where we are so each time we go it means hiring a car which isn’t cheap! We opted for the Smallholders Show exactly for the reasons you mention – smaller and friendlier!

  7. May 19, 2009 2:56 pm

    Hi Rebecca,

    that looks absolutely fascinating. Having a smallholding is something we dream of doing – one day!

    Have a lovely day,

    Nina x

  8. thegardensmallholder permalink
    May 19, 2009 3:23 pm

    I have been lucky enough to attend the Royal Welsh show a few years ago. The horses were amazing, the fastest sheep shearer display was amazing too. Love the photos x

  9. May 20, 2009 10:00 am

    That sounds like it was a fantastic day out!! Once again.. great pictures!! I want that camera!! :0)

    My spinning is nowhere near as good as yours, but I’m getting the hang of it. I start off well, then I get carried away and when I look up I’ve overspun loads of it!! My plying is pants too! more and more and more practice needed!

    I’m getting such an energetic feeling from you that your flying on your path towards sheepdom and fleecy paradise! Fabulous!!

    I’ve got a load of stuff to dye so I’ll be back to read your hints and tip!

    hen
    xxx

Leave a Reply

