Skip to content

a bit more about my nettle-dyed wool…

May 17, 2009

Just a quickie today as it’s been a busy weekend. We visited the Smallholder Show at the Royal Welsh Showground yesterday and I was in sheep heaven! More about that soon….

Anyhow, I just wanted to show you what the nettle-dyed wensleydale looks like now it’s all been spun….

nettle-spun2

I’m really pleased with how it turned out – pleased and also quite surprised. I didn’t enjoy spinning the wensleydale as much as usual – I found it difficult and was certain that the end result would be a right-off. Wensleydale wool has quite a long staple length – up to 30cm – much longer than I’m used to and I think that’s why I found it more of a challenge. I’m sure with practice it would become easier and given the lovely lustre of the wool, I think it’s certainly worth spending time practicing. Wensleydale sheep are classed as ‘At Risk’ by the Rare Breeds Survival Trust and, as I’m keen support the conservation of rare breeds via my spinning, that’s another reason for me to persevere.

nettle-spun

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2009 2:01 pm

    It looks exquisite!! You are doing so, so well with the spinning!!
    Love Jane

  2. May 17, 2009 2:56 pm

    scrumptious!

  3. May 17, 2009 4:56 pm

    subtle colour 🙂

  4. May 17, 2009 6:40 pm

    That looks like very soft yarn, lovely spinning as usual.

  5. May 17, 2009 7:38 pm

    It’s come up really lovely – a nice subtle shade now all there is to do is make something!

    Have a lovely evening and I hope your head isn’t throbbing too much I could strongly recomment ‘hair of the dog’ – chin, chin!

    take care,

    Nina x

  6. May 17, 2009 8:10 pm

    Very nice. I look forward to your Smallholder Show report.

  7. May 17, 2009 8:41 pm

    Pretty!

  8. May 18, 2009 9:10 pm

    The yarn looks luscious!

  9. May 19, 2009 7:21 am

    thanks everyone!

Leave a Reply

