Skip to content

Spinnings

May 7, 2009

Hello folks! I hope you don’t mind but I’d like to share some recent spinnings with you….

spinnings-on2

First off, I’ve finally got round to plying my onion dyed yarn. It had been sitting on the spindle for ages – forgotten in all the excitement caused by the arrival of my wheel. I couldn’t abandon it completely though as the colour is just so beautiful. Its spun from pure shetland wool and is soft and lofty – just as it should be! There’s not a huge amount though – a mere 77 metres – but I do have more left on the spindle, should I need it. I’m thinking of making a lacy headscarf with it and hope to start playing around with stitch patterns over the weekend (well, as soon as I can tear myself away from my wheel….)

scrapspin

Next up we have my first wheel spun yarn – yay! As I wasn’t expecting anything great from my first attempt I just used some scraps of cheap (and not very nice) merino. The resulting yarn isn’t great but it is useable, which is better than I was expecting for my first go. I also learnt a lot about my wheel as I was making it which was, after all, the purpose of the exercise! The main difficulty I had was judging how much twist to put in – in places the yarn has far too much twist which makes it feel hard rather than soft and squishy. As I went on though, I got better at judging this and found it much easier when I moved onto my next project…

spinnings1

This time the yarn was nice and soft. It’s spun from a merino and silk blend and the silk gives it a really nice sheen. From a distance the yarn looks a solid colour but it’s actually made up of various shades of blue and purple – an effect I love. Again, it wasn’t without it’s problems – I found it much harder to achieve a balanced yarn on the wheel (for non-spinners: a balanced yarn is one with equal amount of clockwise and anti-clockwise twist) which is why the yarn is a bit wild…

spinnings2

Still, a quick dunk in some warm water and being left to dry under tension should tame it and overall I’m very happy with it. It’s nice and fine (26 WPI) and there’s a whopping 371 metres of it so I should have enough for a small project.

So… that’s what I’ve been up to! Thanks for taking a look.

x

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2009 9:17 pm

    looking good 🙂 I went back to the spindle last weekend as I needed something to keep my fingers busy while we were out .

  2. May 7, 2009 9:18 pm

    That really is beautiful!!!! And very good quality too!

  3. May 8, 2009 11:25 am

    They are beautiful – the colours are amazing.

    I was watching Kirstie Allsop last night having a go at spinning – I was mesmerised and the effort that goes in, absolutley amazing.

    Have a lovely weekend,

    Nina x

  4. May 8, 2009 2:27 pm

    The yarns are looking wonderful, you have mastered the art of spinning so well. I am so glad you managed to obtain a wheel in the end and I will enjoy looking at all your gorgeous creations as you continue with some of your projects.
    With Love, Jane xxx

  5. May 8, 2009 2:53 pm

    Your spinning is lovely. I especially like the wool that’s been dyed with onion skins. It’s such a delicate colour….and brings back happy memories ~ I remember my mum and I dying wool with onion skins back in the seventies! Congratulations on your new spinning wheel too ~ she is a beauty.

  6. May 8, 2009 3:18 pm

    That golden colour is lovely – when I win the lottery tonight, and after I’ve bought my big house with my craft room, you’ll have to come and help me get started with all this dyeing and spinning stuff!

    • May 8, 2009 5:27 pm

      I certainly will – although I’ll expect payment in the form of tea and cake… 🙂

  7. May 8, 2009 6:06 pm

    You say that the purple yarn was made from scraps of not-very-nice merino, but the colours are so beautiful. In fact all three of these are wonderful colours. The onion-skin is subtle and lovely, the silky blue/purple looks almost irridescent! I look forward to seeing the projects that use these, and more spinning!

  8. May 8, 2009 6:30 pm

    wow I really love the pink one!

  9. May 8, 2009 6:44 pm

    Thanks very much everyone!

Leave a Reply

