Skip to content

Wonderful Wonderwool

April 26, 2009

What a fantastic time we had yesterday! A friend and I spent the entire day immersed in woolly goodness at the rather wonderful Wonderwool Wales, a festival of welsh wool and natural fibres where we made some fluffy new friends….

ww1

and admired some woolly beauties…

ww2

We oohed and aahed over the creations of talented designers as they strutted their stuff on the ‘sheepwalk’….

sheepwalk1

sheepwalk2

and oohed and aahed some more at all the yummy yarns on offer.

oliver twist yarn

Oh, and naturally I came back with a whole heap of goodies…beautiful hand-dyed tops by Spindlefrog and Artist’s Palette Yarns

ww7

…rather a lot of raw alpaca fibre in gorgeous natural shades…

ww8

…a new lightweight hand-turned spindle plus handcarders…

ww9

…a little light reading…..

ww10

…and some natural dyes from Pure Tinctoria.

ww11

I think this little lot should keep me busy for a little while! I also got to take a closer look at some wheels and think that I might have finally reached a decision and, if everything goes to plan, I will be the proud owner of my very own spinning wheel very soon!

Oh how I wish every weekend was a wonderwool weekend!

xxx

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2009 12:13 pm

    wow! Sure you’ll make wonderful pieces of work with this beautiful material!

    • April 26, 2009 1:11 pm

      thank you – I’m looking forward to getting stuck in!

  2. April 26, 2009 1:08 pm

    I am so INCREDIBLY jealous! I really wanted to go to Wonderwool, if only for the lack of LYS’s in Cardiff! Was it really big? Would you recommend it for me for next year?

    • April 26, 2009 1:15 pm

      Yes, it was even bigger than I was expecting. We spent the whole day there from about 10.30 until 5 and just about managed to see everything in the wonderwool bit – there was also a food festival attached but we only made a cursory tour of that as we were a bit done in by then! I really recommend it for next year – it was fabulous!

  3. April 26, 2009 4:58 pm

    Also jealous!!! But I have borrowed a wheel from our local spinners guild and it is sat in the room here with me. Hopefully over the next few days I will be able to start and play. Will have to make a note for next year:-)

    • April 27, 2009 1:28 pm

      Have fun with the wheel. I am so excited about getting one!

  4. April 27, 2009 6:44 am

    Thanks for this review. I look forward to seeing the fruits of your labours. And I’m sure I’ll see you there next year!

  5. April 27, 2009 1:24 pm

    Wow such beautiful colours and I love that full length coat or is it a cardigan?

    Have a lovely day,

    Nina x

    • April 27, 2009 1:31 pm

      Thanks Nina – yes, the coat was rather lovely – it is by designer Prudence Mapstone and is made from freeform crochet.

  6. April 27, 2009 2:05 pm

    oh wish I could have gone 😦 – sounds like you had a wonderful time!

  7. April 28, 2009 5:17 pm

    Wow, what a day! Wonderful coat as well!!

  8. April 30, 2009 7:25 pm

    Wow. That cloak/coat that reminds me of Klimpt is incredible. *swoon*

  9. May 1, 2009 7:25 am

    Thanks for sharing all your lovely photos. What a great event!

  10. May 19, 2009 7:22 pm

    Its great to see your Wonderwool pictures! It was a fantastic event. You did well finding time to watch the ‘sheepwalk’, I was so distracted by everything that I forgot all about it!

    The lady modelling in your first photograph is Jane Meredith who runs fantastic natural ‘plant dyeing’ workshops. This is her website: http://www.plantdyedwool.co.uk/

    I went on one of her 3 day workshops in 2007 and had a fantastic time! My pictures from the course are on my flickr page if you fancied a look to see what we got up to: http://www.flickr.com/photos/skeffto/sets/72157604432642107/

    Apologies if you already knew about Jane’s courses, I just thought I’d mention it in case you didn’t know of them as it seems like the kind of thing you’d enjoy!

    Kate 🙂

Leave a Reply

