Skip to content

Further evidence of my addiction…

April 17, 2009

pgyarn41

This has been quite a while in the making as I was trying to spin fairly fine. It hasn’t turned out as fine as I originally planned but I’m happy with it all the same. It’s a merino/silk blend and has a lovely subtle sheen to it.

pgyarn2

Here’s the stats….

  • Name: Pastures Green
  • Fibre: Merino and Silk
  • Weight: a smidgin over 80g
  • Length: 385 yards/352 metres
  • WPI: 26
  • Ply: 2
  • Colourway: Green (the bottom 2 pics are the best representations of colour)
  • Spun on: Top Whorl Drop Spindle

pgyarn

As you can see, it meets with Baby Small’s approval. She proclaimed it ‘saaaf’ (meaning ‘soft’ for those of you unfamiliar with her particular brand of toddler-talk) then proceeded to cuddle and stoke the yarn. I wonder where she gets that from…..

8 Comments leave one →
  1. alifelesssimple permalink
    April 17, 2009 12:26 pm

    I was just dropping by to say thank you for the lovely spinning posts as they have finally inspired me to pick up my drop spindle again last night, and you have another lovely post for me to look at!

    Where do you find the time? It’s a nice green too, all fresh and summer like. Any plans for what you’ll make with it?

  2. April 17, 2009 12:46 pm

    Thanks Poppy! Great to hear you’re spinning too! I tend to do most of my spinning in the evening after baby small has gone to bed. We don’t have a telly so it’s something nice to do whilst I listen to the radio 🙂
    Not sure what I plan to do with the yarn yet – there’s a pattern for some lacy socks I’m keen to try out but I’m not sure if have quite enough yarn…. I think I’ll have to crochet up some swatches when I get chance and see where the mood takes me!

  3. dowhatyoulove permalink
    April 18, 2009 2:34 am

    Wow, such a beautiful color. And Baby Small’s expression is priceless, those big doe eyes! It’s no wonder she likes it, and oh so saaaf. 🙂

  4. April 18, 2009 6:58 am

    Thank you! I think she’s quite a cutie! Perhaps I should get her to ‘model’ all my handspun!
    x

  5. April 18, 2009 7:40 am

    .. and the yarn is cute too! 26wpi is pretty fine! Something lacey maybe? Gorgeous spring green colour.

  6. April 19, 2009 9:49 am

    beautiful – we are still at teh lumpy ‘texture rich’ stage of spinning!

  7. April 19, 2009 10:11 am

    peahen – thanks – I think I’ll swatch for some crocheted lacy socks I’ve got the pattern for – I’ve never made socks before so it would be good to learn!

    colouritgreen – I think that’s what they call ‘novelty yarn” isn’t it? 🙂

  8. April 19, 2009 11:25 am

    Hello Rebecca, I love the colour of your yarn I can see why your little one is so attached to it, it does look really lovely and soft.

    Thank you for your lovely comment and visiting me, it’s great to meet you too – ‘hello’!

Leave a Reply

