Skip to content

Spring Shawl(ette)

April 6, 2009

shawl7

Now, I’m not really a shawl sort of person but when I spotted this pattern, I knew I had to make it. I immediately pictured it in a lighter weight yarn – something delicate and floaty, perfect for all the weddings and garden parties I’m likely to be invited to this spring and summer – yeah right, I can dream though…. 

Anyhow, on with the nitty-gritty…

shawl1

Pattern: Armorique by Eclat Du Soleil (available for purchase here

Yarn: Rowan Kidsilk Haze (25g) x 2

Colourway: Meadow

Hook: 3mm

shawl5

About the pattern

This is a lovely pattern – impressively well written, easy to follow and with photographs detailing each step. I wholeheartedly recommend it. My one bugbear is that there’s no gauge given so I was unable to crochet up a swatch beforehand to see how my yarn substitution would work up size-wise. As a result, I think my shawl is a bit on the small side – I could have done with going up a couple of hook sizes. I guess I could have solved this by adding in a couple of extra rows to the main body of the shawl but I was running out of yarn at the time and didn’t want to have to splash out on another ball…so I’ll content myself with a shawlette, rather than the originally intended shawl…

shawl2

About the yarn

As mentioned above, I needed to find a substitute yarn as the specified yarns are not readily available in the UK. I settled on Rowan Kidsilk Haze as I wanted something soft and non-prickly that could be worn next to the skin and I also love the colours it comes in. I thought this green was just right for spring. However, if I make this again, I think I’ll go for a less ‘hairy’ yarn so that there’s greater stitch definition – it’s such a gorgeous stitch pattern that it deserves to be highlighted. Something silky would look spectacular and would, in my opinion, transform the shawl from “garden party’ to evening wear. Imagine it in red silk over a little black dress… it would certainly have va va voom!

shawl6

Right, now I just need to find a garden party to wear this to….

any offers?

xxx

shawl4

25 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2009 9:38 pm

    That’s beautiful, so delicate and a gorgeous colour. I like the fact that it’s just a little bit fuzzy. reminds me of a hazy summer evening. And the sea.

  2. April 6, 2009 10:12 pm

    It’s lovely and so delicate! I think I would be afraid to touch it, let alone wear it. 🙂

  3. nasgirl permalink
    April 6, 2009 11:49 pm

    That is gorgeous! good work!!!
    I’m not a shawl person either but I wouldn’t mind making one just to put on a mannequin and look at all day 😀

  4. fruitfulfusion permalink
    April 7, 2009 7:56 am

    This looks absolutely gorgeous! I love the colour too. Just beautiful!

  5. randa permalink
    April 7, 2009 12:34 pm

    soooooo beautiful,soft and delicate
    the colour is sooo cute and the yarn makes the project looks more gorgeous
    good job
    i’ll try making one

  6. April 7, 2009 2:46 pm

    That’s beautiful – I would so wear that! (but garden parties are a bit thin on the ground here too – it’s more BBQs where you’re overdressed in anything other than jeans).
    I think it works really well as a shawl-ette, just right for across your shoulders over a pretty strappy dress. The brooch is perfect too.

  7. April 7, 2009 3:12 pm

    it’s really pretty, and i love the color you chose!

  8. April 7, 2009 4:08 pm

    thanks very much everyone!
    xxx

  9. April 7, 2009 4:34 pm

    ooooo, its loverly!

  10. April 7, 2009 9:21 pm

    lovely

  11. April 8, 2009 11:42 am

    This is truly lovely. It does nake me think of Spring soirees. lol

    No good for a mama of a baby though lol.

  12. April 8, 2009 2:00 pm

    mmm! very delicate yarn, color and execution!
    I love your pictures. Can I use one to report in my blog (with a link towards yours of course)?

  13. April 8, 2009 2:19 pm

    EclatDuSoleil – Thanks for your comment. It’s a lovely pattern – one I’m certain I’ll make again! Yes, you’re more than welcome to use one of the pictures and link to me. Thanks for coming up with such a beautiful pattern!

  14. April 9, 2009 2:48 am

    The colors is pretty…and the yarn is so feminine and delicate and lacy….so classy looking. Looks like something a princess would wear…I love it!

  15. dowhatyoulove permalink
    April 9, 2009 5:43 am

    This is simply beautiful! I love everything about it. The stitch, the colour, the shape, the fuzzyness. Very well done. Do we get to see a picture of you wearing it? I bet its cute on you!

  16. April 9, 2009 7:42 am

    thank you for pointing me to the lovely patterns! Yours is beautiful!

  17. April 10, 2009 3:39 pm

    I already liked Armorique but I did not know what yarn I would choose to make it. It’s done, it’ll be KsH. Yours is so beautiful and delicate that I won’t resist very long. Very nice work, bravo !

  18. habitata permalink
    April 15, 2009 12:06 pm

    Beatiful. I’m invited to a wedding in june, and think this is what I’m looking for. Thanks!

  19. April 18, 2009 10:11 pm

    So Inspiring!

  20. April 19, 2009 8:18 am

    Thanks everyone!

    Val – not sure how tightly you crochet, but if I made this again, I’d definitely go up at least 1 hook size and would probably need 3 balls of KsH in order to make the border too….

    Thanks again!

  21. Bhalu permalink
    May 28, 2009 10:32 am

    looks soft and very good

  22. August 16, 2009 10:18 pm

    very very beautiful and so raomantic……..
    I love it!!
    Bravo! Congratulation
    Hookinette from France

  23. September 20, 2009 7:17 am

    Lovely, i love the color.

  24. Stephanie permalink
    January 5, 2010 7:52 pm

    I just ordered this pattern!
    I hope mine comes out as beautiful as yours. I’m going to make mine out of Cascade Yarns’ Green alpaca lace 🙂

  25. August 20, 2010 8:17 am

    Lovely Shawl.

Leave a Reply

