Skip to content

How to test for setting point

April 5, 2009

There are a few different ways to test for setting point but I favour the low-tech saucer method:

When I start making the jam, I pop a saucer in the fridge to chill. When you think the jam might be ready, put a blob of jam on the chilled saucer, leave for a moment, then gently push with your finger. If the surface of the jam wrinkles the jam is ready to be potted.

setting

As simple as that! 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2009 10:06 pm

    Works every time. I keep thinking I should buy a sugar thermometer but why shell out for a piece of equipment (plus the inevitable packaging!) when I’ve a stack of saucers in the cupboard.

    A friend brought round a bag of rhurbarb this afternoon so I’ll be making rhubarb and ginger jam this week.

  2. April 6, 2009 10:23 am

    Mmm, rhubarb and ginger sounds good. Might have to give that a go…
    xxx

Leave a Reply

