Skip to content

Spring Greens

April 2, 2009

I’ve mentioned before how I seem to subconsciously go through phases with colours and I’ve noticed that these phases seem to be very much influenced by the seasons and the weather. In summer I go for anything bright, in autumn I choose golds, reds and russets, in winter I love deep berry colours and in spring…. well, it just has to be green…..

At the moment, I’m spinning this…

green1

finishing this…..

green2

and starting this……

green3

I love the colour green. It speaks to me of new growth, fertility and freshness. In fact, the word green is believed to derive from an Old English word meaning to grow. Of course there are plenty of negative associations too – if you’re jealous you might be “green with envy” or if you’re unwell you might be looking “green around the gills”. However, these associations are not the ones that spring immediately to mind for me. Instead, the colour green always conjures up images from nature, images such as these…..

green7

green8

green61

So how about you… What things do you associate with green? Do you love it or loathe it? Whatever you think about it, I hope you’ve enjoyed this particular little burst of greenness!

xxx

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 2:52 pm

    Oh that unspun stuff is glorious!

    That’s a lovely stitch in that middle piece.

    I tried that filigree bookmark but my yarn probably isn’t right, and those long chans just kill me!

    As for gen – it has to be muted for me. Either dark or light, but never bright. Olives and jades, even muted pistachios.

  2. April 2, 2009 4:44 pm

    I love green, all shades. My favorite color.

    And your spinning. I’m so impressed with how fine your yarn is.

    Green means fertility and growth, creativity, coolness in the heat, lush richness.

  3. April 2, 2009 6:04 pm

    Some luscious photos there!!
    I don’t really favour green but I’m decorating my sons (‘grown up’) bedroom at the moment – it’s creams/browns with highlights of muted lime green (‘Spring green’!) and it’s so fresh and … well springy … I’m loving it.

  4. April 2, 2009 9:00 pm

    I just love the colour green 🙂

  5. April 2, 2009 10:22 pm

    green – I love green, green means alive, growing and makes me happy, spring is green, just like now and I love now!

    I love the look of the thing you said you finishing… what is going to be?

    x

  6. April 3, 2009 1:20 am

    What a beautiful path through the grass! Green’s my favorite color too…olive, sage, moss, grass…lovely. I like blue as well, but generally dislike blue-greens…I guess I’m just picky. 🙂

  7. April 3, 2009 6:41 am

    I think it’s just become my favourite colour, and Spring is without doubt my favourite time of year, when the countryside explodes with many shades of green. Those beautiful photos make me yearn to be out there. It’s no wonder that the Green Man came into being – I believe a metaphor / personification of all things green and leafy. I love the colour you’re spinning – it’s the colour I’ve been trying (unsuccessfully) to achieve with natural dyeing. The little bit of yellow in your roving gives a very new, fresh spring-like colour. I look forward to seeing what you make with that.

  8. April 3, 2009 7:28 am

    Thanks for all your comments. Good to know there’s plenty of green fans out there! I’ll be having a little giveaway very soon and green will feature quite significantly…. so stay tuned!

    beweaver – thank you – it’s not as fine as I was aiming for but it’s been a good learning experience!

    Mon and Izabel – thank you. The second picture is of a shawl I’m making – it just needs to be blocked now and then it’s done. Will be posting pics of the finished item very soon!

    colouritgreen – there’s a surprise! 🙂 It’s my favourite colour too – in case you hadn’t guessed…..

    Louise – that sounds lovely – I’d love to redecorate my room in pale green (so soothing) but it doesn’t actually need redecorating so I guess I’ll have to wait!

    wil – the path is in a field near where I grew up – such a lovely spot!

    Peahen – I find the Green Man such a fascinating symbol. I love spotting him peeking out in various churches and cathedrals…. I’ve been reading a lot of dyeing books recently and they often say to overdye yellow with indigo or woad to achieve green. Have you tried that? Sounds quite fiddly to me but does seem to result in some nice colours…. oh, on the subject of dyeing, I am STILL waiting for my alum to arrive – wonder if it’s been seized by the Royal Mail for looking suspicious!

    xxx

  9. dowhatyoulove permalink
    April 3, 2009 8:15 am

    Wow, look at that beatufiul fine green yarn you are spinning. Wonderful job! You are a natural at spinning!
    This time of year, green definatly represents nature to me. I am looking for every little glimps of it as it slowly starts to pop out.
    Green also represents the heart chakra to me. So green is a very positive color to me.

  10. April 3, 2009 2:24 pm

    To me, green means home, because I’m from Ireland and everything is green there 🙂

    Is that Kidsilk Haze in the second photo, by any chance? It’s lovely.

  11. ikkinlala permalink
    April 3, 2009 5:00 pm

    I love most shades of green. I have a lot of associations with it, both good and bad, since I wrote an essay about the word for an English class.

  12. thegardensmallholder permalink
    April 3, 2009 9:22 pm

    Another green fan here too. To me, green is everything I LOVE about nature, the outdoors and growing. Love your photos and your new banner photos 🙂

  13. April 4, 2009 1:09 pm

    You know my Downsizer name so I think that says it all 😉

  14. April 5, 2009 7:09 pm

    Oh my gosh, … how am I suppose to get any work done when you are doing all these great things and distracting me so… the spinning so fine , the knitting so delicate.. and all these wonderful posts… Lovely, lovely, lovely!!!

    Oh I love spring ….let me count the ways.. , the scent of the soil, the freshness of the air, the warmth on my skin, the longer hours of light, the coming back to life of the great outdoors and everything that lives there… the knowledge that soon I will be able to sit outside and bask in the glory of it all…

    oh thank you, I have energized me…. now I will go and do some more work..

  15. April 5, 2009 7:15 pm

    🙂

    green *sigh*

    Well, it’s my favourite colour. It represents everything I love in life… the leaves of every plant and tree, waking up in the outdoors, grass stains… (From working outdoors!! 😉 Its the colour I always wear. It’s the colour that makes me, well happy.

    hen
    x

  16. April 5, 2009 7:18 pm

    gorgeous photies by the way!!

  17. April 16, 2009 8:58 pm

    Oh I love green too, especially when it is up against brown. I went in search of green and brown the other day, with my camera in tow of course.

Leave a Reply

