Skip to content

Interweave Crochet Spring 2009

March 26, 2009

Well, when the Spring issue of Interweave Crochet appeared on my doorstep this morning, it was perhaps a timely reminder that I used to do crafts other than spinning! I must confess, although there are some lovely designs, there’s not much I actually feel inspired to make – either because the style wouldn’t suit me or it’s just not my cup of tea. I will however, without a doubt, be making this…..

Rather lovely, eh? I love lacy crochet and this looks like an exceptionally lovely design. Simple but oh so stylish. I’m considering spinning the yarn for it too (sorry, couldn’t keep spinning entirely out of this post… :)) – it requires laceweight yarn so it’s definitely a long term project!

I’m also considering making this…..

although I’m not convinced it would suit me – I prefer to keep the tops of my arms well covered – believe me it’s better that way, they’re not a pretty sight….. but I do love this design. Again, I think it’s the laciness that does it for me…

Although that’s all I’m likely to make from this issue, the articles more than compensate for the lack of suitable designs for me. There’s a great feature on crochet lace by Doris Chan (one of my favourite designers), an interview with Julia Vaconsin (another inspiring designer) and a fascinating look at the origins of crochet.

So all in all, plenty to keep me happy – and maybe, just maybe, something to encourage me to stop spinning for 5 minutes and get those hooks back out! xxx

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 9:44 pm

    I have been thinking and really like this top too… good choice…
    x

  2. Kathy Ludgate permalink
    March 27, 2009 12:17 am

    I think that the Spring issue is not up to the design quality of previous issues. But I do love anything that Julia Vaconsin does.
    I am almost finished with the bow tie cardigan from winter and will definitely make her vest in the Spring 2009 issue.

  3. dowhatyoulove permalink
    March 27, 2009 5:07 am

    Those do look like lovely projects. I don’t know if I would have the patience to finish them though……. I like fast projects, hehe. It’s great that you already do crochet, its a good way to use up all the yarn you will be spinning.

  4. March 27, 2009 5:41 pm

    Sounds like you’re feeling inspired! Yes, spinning the yarn means that things take even longer, but ‘fuzz to finished’ is far more rewarding! I really do love that scarf – but I don’t crochet!

  5. March 27, 2009 6:37 pm

    Izabela – thanks – I look forward to seeing yours if you decide to make it. I’m still deliberating – not sure if I can tear myself away from my spindle for long enough to make it…

    Kathy – oh, the bow tie cardigan was a lovely design. Well deserving it’s place on the front page! Hope yours turns out well.

    Stacey – in theory the crochet should be quite quick – well, that’s if I don’t abandon it (as I usually do) when I’m about 2 thirds through…. and I think it would be so satisfying to make something, as peahen says, from ‘fuzz to finished’!

    peahen – now I’m getting the hang of spinning, I want to start planning it out a bit more and spin with a specific project in mind. I can picture the scarf spun from something silky, very red and oh so dramatic……

  6. thegardensmallholder permalink
    March 28, 2009 8:57 pm

    Oh dear me, im useless at anything like this! I have to say though that top is very nice. Hope you do make it for yourself xx

  7. March 29, 2009 5:53 pm

    Thanks Karen – I’m sure you underestimate your talents though!

Leave a Reply

