Skip to content

More Handspun

March 20, 2009

Well, I’m feeling pretty pleased with myself. Why? Because I’ve made this:

hanspun-p2

It’s my second lot of handspun, spun from some lovely soft Shetland wool. It was spun and plied on my trusty drop spindle. The wool had been hand-painted prior to spinning and I love the variation in the colours. There’s not a huge amount of yarn – 31g measuring just over 68 meters – so I’m not sure what I’m going to make with it yet. It has a WPI of 17 which puts it around 4ply/fingering weight I think – perfect for socks but I don’t think there’s anywhere near enough yarn – perhaps baby socks would be a better idea! Still, it seems a bit too pretty to be hidden under shoes…… Sure I’ll think of something!

niddynoddy

I really enjoyed spinning the Shetland – it was interesting to note how it felt different to the Corriedale. I did struggle to get it all on the spindle when I was plying though – it was getting very full and heavy towards the end and the plied stuff that had been wrapped around the shaft kept slipping which was rather frustrating. Part of the problem, I think, is that my drop spindle is quite a heavy one. I’ve seen pictures of spindles made from a piece of dowel and a cd so I think I might make one of these specifically for plying as it should be nice and light. I know the best way to make things easier for myself would be to get a wheel though and I’m really hoping we can afford one this summer. I must try to be patient though – if anything I need to try out a few different sorts of wheel to see which suits me best. I loved the wheel I used on the course but it was a top of the range one. My husband often tells me I have expensive tastes….. 🙂

handspun-p3

Well, I’ll leave you with yet another gratuitous picture of some handspun eye-candy. Thank you for indulging me and my new obsession!

xxx

handspun-p

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2009 6:57 pm

    oh my god that is awesome!!!!!!!! well done you!!! such a beautiful colour too. I’m missing my wheel at the moment. You’re making me miss it even more!

    Wonderful stuff!

    hen

    x

  2. stitchesandknits permalink
    March 20, 2009 7:01 pm

    beautiful yarn 🙂

  3. thegardensmallholder permalink
    March 20, 2009 7:29 pm

    Gorgeous colour, would look very pretty indeed on baby. Nothing wrong with expensive tastes 😉 xx

  4. dowhatyoulove permalink
    March 20, 2009 8:16 pm

    How very beautiful! You are doing great on your little drop spindle. I bet you will be able to afford a wheel, if it is your desire, and you put the intention out there, it will be drawn into your life. Whats the price range of the wheels you have been looking at? I am trying to remember what they are around here, but I haven’t looked at them for a while.

  5. March 20, 2009 8:28 pm

    it looks gorgeous! nice work!

  6. March 20, 2009 9:46 pm

    Thank you everyone.

    Stacey – the wheel I like is just under £500 – and that’s without any accessories! It’s a lot of money but I feel that if it’s something I can really make a go of then I should see it as an investment…. oh, and I have to think of all the money I’d save by not buying yarn! 🙂

  7. dowhatyoulove permalink
    March 21, 2009 2:56 am

    Yeah, its an investment for sure. But anything that you are passionate about is well worth it!

  8. March 21, 2009 8:30 am

    You don’t need to thank anyone for indulging you – this is quite beautiful and impressive work! You will think of the right thing to knit with it. As for a wheel – it’s a lovely thing to have in your home, and a joy to use, but for my current project I have returned to the drop-spindle, because I want lace-weight, and I find the hand spindle gives me more control. I am finding though that I’m just getting so much pleasure from using it again. Maybe invest in some different types of spindle? They don’t have to be very expensive and you can try different weights and sizes.

  9. March 21, 2009 8:28 pm

    It’s just getting better and better! it looks really even ply and a very pretty colour. It would be perfect for little crochet mittens or ballet slippers.

  10. March 22, 2009 12:29 pm

    This yarn is beautiful. I look forward to the time when you’re more into it than now, even, and you have your spinning wheel and you have a giveaway of some home made yarn (hint hint!)! I love the colour variations.

  11. March 22, 2009 11:01 pm

    oh soooo yummy!

  12. alifelesssimple permalink
    March 23, 2009 2:06 pm

    This is lovely, I’m loving your posts about spinning and seeing what you’ve done! It’s really making me want to get mine out and have a go, but I really want to have a go at knitting my own socks before I do and more spinning as that’s what I want to make with the wool.

    It’s almost a shame that the evenings are getting so light as I’m now spending my evening time in the garden.

  13. alifelesssimple permalink
    March 24, 2009 6:31 pm

    I have put an award for youon my blog, hope you enjoy it. Poppy

  14. March 25, 2009 8:47 am

    Thank you for all the kind comments.

    Peahen – yes, I think I will try to find a lighter weight spindle for spinning fine yarn – I’m going to a wool festival next month and am hoping they’ll be some there…. although I’m completely besotted with the golding spindles I’ve seen online – need to save quite a few pennies before I can afford one of those though!

    Louise – at the moment the nearest I’ve got to making anything with it is admiring it and stroking it on a daily basis!! Will have a bit of an experiment when I’ve finished my current project.

    Jennie – watch this space!!! I’m planning a giveaway soon – although I don’t think it’ll include any handspun this time – but there’ll be plenty of other goodies!

    Poppy – yes, I’m finding that I’m spending more time in the garden now and less time crafting but it’s just so lovely to have some sunshine!

    Thanks again lovely people!
    xxx

  15. March 25, 2009 1:56 pm

    Oh so pretty! Love the juxtaposition with the flowers! Nice job.

  16. March 31, 2009 12:32 pm

    You are doing amazing on the drop spindle.. and the color is luscious… I used to feel the same way about the dyed fleece I handspun… I loved it even more just in the yarn stage.. the realization that actual usable fiber was created by our own hands… sure feels good!!! oh and I never saw a niddy-noddy like the one.. very unique.. (you do call them niddy-noddies don’t you?

  17. March 31, 2009 1:08 pm

    Thanks Gwen – I’m hoping to start dyeing soon (keen to try some natural dyeing so have been saving up my onion skins!) I’m looking forward to experimenting with colours…

    Yep, we call them niddy nooddies too – I’m not sure where mine came from as it was a christmas present from my husband – it’s quite a handy one though as it screws together and you can change the lengths in order to make mini sample skeins or extra long ones – although of course I need to be spinning considerably more wool before that’s necessary! 🙂

  18. April 1, 2009 2:31 pm

    oh very unique niddy noddy.. I never knew of one that had different lengths.. what a smart idea…

Leave a Reply

