Skip to content

A seriously simple salmon dish and some thoughts on the visual nature of cooking….

February 28, 2009

salmon

I have quite a small budget with which to feed the three of us so we usually eat quite frugally. However, when it’s time for the monthly Farmers Market, I usually can’t resist all the wonderful produce on offer and splash out on a foodie treat for us. This month I was tempted by some beautiful hand-reared, RSPCA approved salmon from the fishmonger’s stall.  

Cooking is something that can stimulate all the senses and I particularly like the visual aspect of cooking. One of my favourite dishes to cook in summer, for instance, is ratatouille as I love the jumble of bright, contrasting colours in the pan – glossy red tomatoes, dark green courgettes and sunshine yellow peppers. I never see cooking as a chore – in fact, I find it quite a mediative process. I like to take time to admire the beauty of the fresh ingredients and to reflect upon nature’s bounty.  This salmon provided a perfect opportunity for such reflection. It was such a visual treat with its shimmering silver skin and vivid orange flesh. Beautiful! 

salmon3

I always think that good quality food needs very little doing to it so I cooked the salmon quite simply, baking it in foil with a little welsh butter and some herbs. Here’s the recipe:

salmon4

Salmon baked in Foil

Serves 2

  • 2 portion sized salmon fillets 
  • herbs (I like to use dill or rosemary)
  • butter
  • seasoning
  • 2 large pieces of kitchen foil

Preheat oven to 180 / Gas Mark 4. Grease each piece of foil with a little butter. Place the salmon on top. Sprinkle with your choice of herbs, fresh or dry, then dot with butter. Bring the two side edges of the foil together and scrunch up to seal then curl up the end edges to make the parcel. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes. I like to serve it with a green vegetable (sauteed curly kale in this instance) and either fluffy basmati rice or new potatoes.

Yum!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 5:40 pm

    Salmon is lovely, isn’t it? And yours looks particularly yummy.

  2. March 1, 2009 7:34 am

    Simple and good, I wouldn’t have thought of using rosemary with salmon, must try it.

  3. March 3, 2009 5:36 pm

    Yummm! looks wonderful!
    I find simplicity most often a road I like to walk too…

Leave a Reply

