Skip to content

a little bit of lacy loveliness…

February 21, 2009

I’ve been doing quite a bit of repetitive back and forth crochet recently – the granny cushion cover back is just straight rows of treble crochet and the ripple blanket, although nicely undulating, is still rather monotonous. All this repetition was leaving me a wee bit bored and I felt in need of a change. In particular, I was craving something lacy and interesting so….. I made this:

doily3

A little coaster-cum-doily. It was fun and very quick to make – a perfect little crochet pick-me-up! It was based on a japanese coaster pattern but as I used 4-ply rather than thread, it’s a funny inbetween size – too big for a coaster but too small to be considered a doilly – but it’s perfect for under a jar of flowers and I love it!

doily4

The yarn used was some Rowan Purelife Organic 4ply Cotton which I picked up on my mini-holiday in Malvern. It is lovely yarn which is almost linen-like in it’s look and feel with a nice degree of drape-ability.

doily2

It claims to be an eco yarn – the cotton is certified organic and organically grown natural dye plants are used to dye it (the shade I used has been dyed with rhubarb). Even the ball band has been made from recycled FSC paper – so extra brownie points for that! 

doily5

I foresee many of my vases and pot plants sitting on one of these little lovelies very soon!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2009 3:46 pm

    eek doilies! lol ok, so I’m not a doily person, but that’s lovely work. And I like the centre stitches and can see that as a circular rug/throw.

  2. February 21, 2009 3:52 pm

    No, I never thought of myself as a doily person either but I love this little one! I did try to make it a bit more of a ‘contemporary’ style by using thicker yarn and I like how it turned out – it was fun to make too! 🙂

  3. February 21, 2009 4:02 pm

    Oh i love the doily. I couldn’t begin to do anything like that… though I wish I could. It looks beautiful underneath the vase.x

  4. February 21, 2009 5:50 pm

    Thanks for your sweet words Rebecca!

    I do love this lovely doily you made. While I’ve never considered whether I’m a doily person or not(!) I do love lace and have a fascination with tatting which I would love to try someday. I’m just not sure I have the patience!

  5. February 21, 2009 6:28 pm

    Thank you both.

    vintage magpie – it was a really simple pattern and crochet is so much easier than knitting – I’m on a mission to get everyone crocheting! 🙂

    ciara – you’re very welcome 🙂 – yes tatting interests me too – as does bobbin lacemaking but I don’t think I have nearly enough patience for that either!

  6. Naomi permalink
    February 21, 2009 9:06 pm

    I love that pattern! I have that book too, and I make those coasters all the time. They look great in different colors too!

  7. February 22, 2009 1:09 pm

    Very, very pretty. I like the colours you’ve used. I do like doilies but used in a limited way such as you have done – it perfectly compliments an understated flower vase (I do cringe at floral china vases on white doilies!). I made some doilies in miniature from blue thread for my dolls house (very tricky!).

    I agree that it’s nice to have a challenge with crochet. I tend to have mutiple projects on the go so I pick up the one that suits my mental state at the time – if I’m tired out at the end of the day it’s nice to zone out with something simple and repetative!

  8. dowhatyoulove permalink
    February 22, 2009 10:18 pm

    Very beautiful. That is a great thing to be able to set vases and pots on, that way if there is a little bit of moisture, it helps to protect your furniture. And how much fun to work with some eco yarn! Keep up the creative work!

  9. February 23, 2009 9:29 am

    The doilly is so pretty and is perfect for under a vase of flowers. Makes me wish I could crochet, I can knit and embroider but have never beenable to get the hang of crochet.

  10. February 23, 2009 2:30 pm

    Beautiful work.. have you ever thought of making lots of these and attaching them to make a beautiful tablecloth.. I love those!!

  11. February 23, 2009 3:34 pm

    Thank you everyone!

    Louise – you must have huge amounts of patience to make miniature doilies! What thread did you use? It must have been very fine! Saying that, there is a part of me that really wants to make a really delicate, intricate lace doily – just for the challenge. The only thing that stops me is knowing I’d not have anywhere to put it when it’s done!

    Gwen – thank you. I want to make a tablerunner from joined motifs – also a cushion cover. I’m trying to design a suitable motif at the moment. As I want to stick with the 4ply (for the sake of my sanity!) I don’t think anything too lacy would work as I want a nice smooth surface…… hmmm, sure I’ll come up with something sooner or later!

  12. February 23, 2009 8:21 pm

    The design combinations could be limitless, couldn’t it.. I think simplifying is usually the hardest part , at least that is what I find when I do designs in whatever medium I’m working in…. it is easy to complicate things but more difficult to simplify… but a challenge is fun!

  13. February 24, 2009 12:20 pm

    I love it! What a great idea. My plants and vases are normally bunged on an old plate or something.

    I’m just waiting on the delivery of some birch ‘Brittany’ crochet hooks. I blame you completely!

    hen
    xx

  14. February 24, 2009 12:35 pm

    Oooh, the brittany hooks are lovely – I’m a sucker for anything wooden! I’m gradually building up my collection of them. Pleased you’re enjoying crocheting!

  15. February 27, 2009 8:49 pm

    That is lovely – I think I need to add “Learn to crochet” to my 101 list!!

    Rosie x

  16. Anette permalink
    February 8, 2010 5:27 pm

    So pretty! I love it! In what book can I find the pattern?

Leave a Reply

