Skip to content

Time Together

February 17, 2009

malverns5

This weekend, as a Valentine’s Day treat, my husband and I spent some time together without the baby. This was quite a big step for me as I’ve spent very little time away from her – partly through necessity as I was breastfeeding up until recently, but also due to the fact that the fretful mother in me was reluctant to trust her care to someone else. However, as my husband and I have spent so little quality time together as a couple recently, we thought it was important that we had a weekend away. I must confess, I did take some talking around but in the end I agreed to it.

After dropping off the baby at my mum’s, we went out for a meal and it was lovely to have time to talk about ideas and thoughts rather than practical matters demanding our attention. In fact, it was just so lovely to have time generally. Everything about our time away was slow-paced and unhurried – a complete contrast to my normal day-to-day activities. Breakfast the next morning for instance, was a wonderfully leisurely affair with pastries and a paper – a real treat as we don’t have time to read the paper usually.

malverns3

We then spent the day in Malvern, Worcestershire – walking in the hills and finally visiting the knitting shop in the town which had been enthusiastically recommended to me by a number of people. The Malverns have a special significance for us as my husband proposed to me at their highest point many years ago and whilst we were up there it made us smile to see another couple doing just that. It’s undoubtedly a romantic spot – even on a damp and windy february day. The visibility wasn’t great but you could still see great swathes of the surrounding countryside – the rolling hills of Herefordshire contrasting with the flat plains of Worcestershire. There was still some snow on the hills, although it had disappeared on the low-lying areas.  We climbed up Herefordshire Beacon which is topped by British Camp, an Iron Age hillfort and the snow dramatically picked out the ditches of the ramparts. I loved how the snaking trails of snow seemed to coil themselves around the hill….

malverns4

And of course, snow always provides opportunities for adults to act like kids…..malverns6

You can’t see in the picture, but there was a perfectly good non-slippy path to the side of me but I opted for the more er… interesting method of throwing myself down a snowdrift and, yes, I did end up on my bottom.

So, we had a wonderful time but how did baby small fare? Well, I think it was clear when we went to collect her and had to prise her away from grandma – she just didn’t want to leave! 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 5:35 pm

    Ah, precious time for the couple. I ahd no idea Worcestershire had such lovely hills. You’re braver than me getting out there in those temps. You’e not even wearing a coat!!

  2. February 17, 2009 6:24 pm

    ahhhhh I remember it well, that first time away from baby (babies in my case). Lovely story, glad you made it!
    xx

  3. thegardensmallholder permalink
    February 17, 2009 8:37 pm

    I agree totally with everything you have said about sharing quality time together as a couple and how important it is. We also VERY rarely share any time together without our children, but when we do it really helps to recharge those batteries, and of course helps the relationship.

    I love Malvern. Glad you had a nice together time xx

  4. dowhatyoulove permalink
    February 17, 2009 10:31 pm

    Oh how spectacular that you got to enjoy some time together! It looks like a lovely place to visit also! It is important for every couple to spend time together, even couples without children. I think the pace of society keeps many people from spending the quality time that is quite needed in relationships.
    It sounds like your little one had her own wonderful adventure with grandma. And I think that it is equally important for children to have some time one on one with adults other than their parents. So it sounds like a perfect experience for all!
    Happy Valentines Day!

  5. February 17, 2009 11:21 pm

    Hello!

    You were in the Malverns! Such a beautiful place, the views are breathtaking!

    Sounds like you had a very special time. :o)

    Thanks for the book recommendation, I’ll keep my eyes peeled for a copy.

    hen
    x

  6. February 17, 2009 11:36 pm

    Sounds like a big step for you guys. I’m glad it worked out so well!

    I’m envious of your moisture/dampness. Someday I may have to move from the high desert to a greener spot.

  7. February 17, 2009 11:58 pm

    Ah the Herefordshire Beacon….it lovely up there….

    next time you are over to see mum, come and see us! we are only 8 miles away…..

    and you have a definate invite for Blossomtime you know…

  8. February 18, 2009 12:53 am

    Looks like the perfect weekend! Glad you managed to find some time together. Hopefully it will be the start of a few more odd weekends to yourselves now and again?
    Love Jane xxx

  9. February 20, 2009 5:54 am

    I love the two middle pictures!
    So beautiful.

Leave a Reply

