Skip to content

WIPs: Crochet Ripple Blanket and Granny Square Cushion

February 7, 2009

rip1

As I haven’t posted about crochet for a little while, I thought I’d share some works in progress with you. First off, I’m working on a small ripple stitch blanket. I started this as I need something to wrap baby small in when she’s in her pushchair and it’s cold. When she’s wearing trousers with tights underneath, it’s not too bad – but if she’s in a dress with tights, I thought she could do with something extra to keep her snug….

rip2

The other project I have on the go is a granny square cushion cover. Our sofas are a bit old and tatty now but, as I can’t afford new ones, I thought I’d try to spruce them up a bit by making some new cushion covers and possibly a throw. 

granny2

The front is just a simple granny square, made to the size of the cushion. I’m not quite sure how I’m going to do the back yet – I could just do another granny square and join with double crochet but I want the cushion cover to be removable (baby small currently has a fascination with felt tip pens so I think its important the cover can be washed!). I’ll probably do a striped piece for the back with an opening half way up. Once I’ve figured out what I’m doing, I’ll try to write up a pattern and post it here. 

granny5

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2009 10:32 am

    These look lovely. I especially like the cushion cover as I’m in dire need of new ones myself! What yarn have you used for that? Is it a cotton? I’ve got loads of standard wooly mixes, but they seem to get a bit fluffy, so I thought that maybe they wouldn’t be the best for cushion covers!

  2. February 7, 2009 10:41 am

    Hi Jennie,

    Thanks very much. I’m using some DK pure wool which seems very smooth so I’m hoping it’s not going to fluff up too much – I think the brand was Sublime Extra Fine Merino. Still, if it does go fuzzy I’ll just tell myself it’s rustic looking!

    I am using cotton for the blanket though as I anticipate it needing regular washes- the baby is very good at throwing things into puddles when we’re out and about!

  3. February 7, 2009 1:58 pm

    Lovely crochet projects!
    I’m itching to do another ripple, I think when I’m about 3/4 done with my current big blankie I’m gonna start ripplin again.
    Love your colours too.
    Lx

  4. February 7, 2009 2:10 pm

    Thank you Lucy. I must confess, it was seeing all your gorgeous colourful crochet that tempted me to try something a bit brighter!

  5. February 7, 2009 4:49 pm

    that are lovely crochet goodies! I recently made a ripple blanket and it was so much fun to make!

  6. February 7, 2009 6:18 pm

    I do love you’re crochet projects. I really want to make some of the scarves. The colours for both the ripple blanket and the cusion are just gorgeous!

  7. February 7, 2009 6:31 pm

    I just ran into your blog and the cusion covers are a great idea, I wish I would have thought of it! Perhaps you can do two peices for the back where they overlap in the middle. Can’t wait to see what it looks like when its done!

  8. February 7, 2009 6:39 pm

    Thanks very much everyone!

  9. February 7, 2009 8:05 pm

    So that close-up of all those lovely perfect stitches, that’s just to mess with my mind, right?

  10. February 7, 2009 8:13 pm

    hee hee – notice how the photo’s cropped? There’s a reason for that…. 🙂

    On a (slightly) more serious note – it’s relatively easy to keep crochet neat and tidy – you can’t drop stitches like you can with knitting…. have I persuaded you to give it another go yet?!

  11. dowhatyoulove permalink
    February 15, 2009 10:14 pm

    I love the colors in both of these projects! I think thats a great idea to create some cushion covers. And I bet your little one will love her new blanket to keep cozy when out and about!

  12. Megan permalink
    March 10, 2009 3:49 am

    All of these are beautiful. I really like the cushion cover. I once made a blanket that looked like that. I was wondering if you could tell me how you made that. I am having a little trouble starting my blanket off… your help would be greatly appreciated.

  13. March 10, 2009 6:45 pm

    Hi Megan,
    Thank you. The cushion is just a simple granny square. Here’s a rough pattern – its in UK crochet terms so for american substitute tr with dc.

    Granny Square
    Chain 6 and join with slip stitch.
    Round 1: Ch 3 (counts as 1 tr). Make 2 tr into ring, ch 3, *3 tr into ring, chain 3. Repeat from * two more times so that you end up with 12 treble crochets in the ring. Slip stitch into 3rd of chain 3. Break off yarn.
    Round 2: Join in new yarn into any corner 3 chain space. Ch 3 (counts as 1 tr) then make 3 tr, ch 3, 3 tr all in same space. *Ch 1 then 3 tr, ch 3, 3 tr into next 3 chain space. Repeat from * two more times then join with a slip stitch into top of ch 3. Break off yarn,
    Round 3 and all subsequent rounds: Join in yarn to any 3 chain corner space. Chain 3, 2 tr into same space, chain 3, 3 tr into same space. Continue round working 3 trebles into each space as follows – for each 1 chain space: chain 1 then 3 tr into space. For each 3 chain corner space: 1 chain, 3 tr, ch 3, 3 tr.

    Hope that makes sense. I plan on writing up a proper pattern when I’ve finished the cushion. If it’s not quite what you’re after, I’m sure you could find other granny square patterns online….

    Good luck with the blanket!

  14. Debbie permalink
    March 17, 2009 7:21 pm

    I love the baby ripple. The colors are so pretty together. The points aren’t as sharp as the last ripple I did, which I like for a baby afghan. What was your pattern on this, if I may ask.

  15. March 17, 2009 8:03 pm

    Hi Debbie,
    Thanks very much. For the wavy ripple I make 3 trebles in one stitch then another 3 trebles in the next stitch, then 1 treble in each of the next 3 stitches, then work 3 trebles together over the next three stitches and then 3 trebles together over the next 3 stitches. I remember it as 2 increases, 3 straight trebles, 2 decreases, 3 straight trebles etc….
    Hope that helps.
    Rebecca
    PS – by treble I mean UK treble so US dc… not sure where you are… 🙂

  16. October 5, 2009 5:22 am

    А если посмотреть на это с другой точки зрения то не все так гладко получается

  17. Aishwarya permalink
    February 5, 2010 11:08 am

    I am also doing a granny square cushion cover but I am confused regarding how to do the backside of it.
    Can you please help me out which would look good?
    Thanks in advance.

Leave a Reply

