Skip to content

Finally….

February 2, 2009

snow

…some snow! This is the first snow we’ve had here this winter and I’m ridiculously excited about it. What is it about snow that fills us with such childish delight? For me it conjures up memories of days off school spent playing in the snow, building snowmen and sledging down the pea field on old carpet tiles. Oh to be 10 years old again!

Back to the present – the baby was a little uncertain about the white stuff at first but she was soon stomping about in it. I didn’t let her stay out too long though as she’s quite poorly at the moment (hence the snotty nose in the pic – poor thing) and I thought getting cold and wet probably wouldn’t improve matters!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. thegardensmallholder permalink
    February 2, 2009 7:35 pm

    She looks very snug in her lovely hat. Did she make a snowman? I made one today with my daughter, was great fun !

    Hope baby gets better soon x

  2. February 2, 2009 10:51 pm

    You’re not alone in your excitement – I’ve spent my entire day grinning from ear to ear each time I spot a couple of snowflakes drift past my window, and you can imagine the glee when my husband pointed out at 8.30 this evening that the snow was beginning to settle! I can’t wait for the morning so I can get out in it!

  3. February 3, 2009 1:14 pm

    Thanks GSH – no, sadly no snowman yet – she’s too poorly. Hopefully there’ll still be some snow about when she’s better though or I might just go and build a snowman myself anyhow! 🙂

    Jennie – hope you’re enjoying the snow today! We’ve had a load more so I’m guessing you have too seeing as we’re not that far away really…. Have fun!

  4. February 4, 2009 12:26 am

    I love falling snow/fresh snow, but the glamour wears off if it stays around too long (thankfully it doesn’t usually last very long around here ~ a few days).

    I hope the little one feels better soon!

  5. February 4, 2009 9:35 pm

    We did have more snow but I had the exciting job of the weekly grocery shop to do, which kind of took over any playtime that I might have had! Oh well, more is forecast for the end of the week, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

  6. dowhatyoulove permalink
    February 5, 2009 8:20 pm

    Too adorable all bundled up in her red! I’m glad you both got to enjoy the snow!
    I just added you to my blogroll, because I just realized that I hadn’t! *gasp*. I dont usually look at my links, and failed to see I did’t have you on there…… tsk tsk to me!
    I enjoyed reading your post on archives also. It is so interesting to see how some things never change with time, and others change drastically!
    Keep enjoying that snow!

  7. February 5, 2009 9:17 pm

    Thank you all – the baby is much better now. The snow has all melted here but more is forecast for the weekend so maybe we’ll get chance to build a snowman after all!

    Stacey – thank you. I hope your trip is going well and your electrical problems have sorted themselves out. Looking forward to reading more about your adventures!

Leave a Reply

