Skip to content

Recipe: Cawl Mamgu (Lamb Broth)

January 29, 2009

As I’m currently living in Wales, I like to cook traditional Welsh dishes from time to time. This is one of our favourites – Cawl Mamgu or Granny’s Broth – baby small is particularly fond of it! it’s simple and relatively cheap to make, tastes great and, provided you use water rather than stock, is suitable for older babies. If you’d like a bit of food history, please take a look here.

stew

Serves 4

  • 450g diced lamb
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 3 sticks of celery, chopped
  • 1 swede, diced 
  • 2 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 parsnip
  • 2 large potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 2 leeks, thinly sliced
  • fresh or dried thyme
  • olive oil
  • seasoning
  • water or stock

Heat the oil in a frying pan then gently fry the onions and celery for 10 minutes. Add the carrots, parsnip and swede and cook until golden then transfer to a flame-proof casserole. Next brown the meat really well – this adds flavour and is particularly important if you’re using water rather than stock. Transfer the meat to the casserole and cover with water or stock. Deglaze the frying pan with a little water or stock and add this to the casserole. Add the thyme and bring to the boil. Cover and simmer as gently as possible for 2 hours. When the 2 hours are up, add the potatoes and leeks and cook for a further 20 – 30 minutes. Serve with crusty bread.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. limeandlemon permalink
    January 29, 2009 1:58 pm

    this sounds and looks really delicious… and its so simple .. its a must try for me .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  2. January 30, 2009 1:15 am

    “I’m currently living in Wales” — I’m curious, do you speak/read Welsh?

  3. January 30, 2009 8:18 am

    Afraid not – I know the odd word, but that’s about it. We’re in South East Wales and there’s not a huge amount of Welsh spoken here. Still, I would like to learn but finding the time is an issue at the moment – combined with the fact that I’m pretty rubbish when it comes to languages! If we’re still here when my daughter goes to school, she’ll learn welsh as it’s part of the curriculum here.

  4. February 1, 2009 10:45 am

    Living in Cardiff, it’s sometimes hard to remember that we still live in Wales! However, I grew up in Ceredigion, so often had cawl with bread and cheese if we went out to eat. I pester my mother in law to make it on St David’s Day each year, but for some reason it never really occurs to me to make it in between times!

    I’ve given you an award; details are on my blog.

    xxx

  5. Blackball permalink
    November 15, 2009 4:00 pm

    Can somebody tell me the difference between Cawl Mamgu and Cawl Cennin, please? I’m not from Wales or a English-speaking country either; however I am quite insterested in knowing more about this recipe =). I would be very grateful if you can tell me. Thanks!!!! =)

  6. November 15, 2009 6:55 pm

    Hello,
    Cawl Cennin is leek stew or soup. Cennin is welsh for leeks. It’s made in a similar way to the Cawl Mamgu recipe I’ve provided but doesn’t usually include pieces of meat (although it’s made with meat stock) and has a higher proportion of leeks. Mamgu means granny – so Cawl Mamgu translates as Granny’s Broth and recipes vary a great deal – traditionally I think you’d just use whatever you had to hand.
    Hope that helps,
    Rebecca

  7. Blackball permalink
    November 15, 2009 11:06 pm

    Hello,
    Thanks Rebecca! Now it’s more clear! =)

    Marta

  8. Blackball permalink
    November 17, 2009 12:32 pm

    Hi again!

    I just have another doubt because I’ve seen some photos and I’d like to know if Cawl Cennin is more like a cream or the ingredients are in pieces? I don’t know If I have made myself clear =S

    Thanks!

  9. Gaynor permalink
    November 15, 2011 5:08 pm

    Diolch yn fawr i ti!

Leave a Reply

