Skip to content

Recipe: Seville Orange Curd

January 16, 2009

Marmalade can be something of an acquired taste – not everyone likes it’s bitter tang. This recipe offers a sweeter, creamier alternative for putting those seasonal Seville oranges to good use. I urge you to give it a try – it’s quick and simple to make and it tastes divine.

curd

The recipe is adapted from Pam Corbin’s wonderful recipe for Bramley Lemon Curd in the River Cottage Preserves book

Seville Orange Curd

Makes 3 x 225g jars

200ml Seville Orange juice (you need approximately 5 oranges)

zest of 3 Seville Oranges

125g unsalted butter

450g sugar (I used Tate and Lyle Organic Caster as that’s what I had in the pantry)

4 large eggs (to make 200ml of beaten egg)

Heat the butter, sugar, zest and orange juice in a bowl over a pan of simmering water until the butter has melted. Pour the beaten eggs through a sieve into the bowl. Stir every now and then until the mixture has thickened (this takes about 10 – 15 minutes), then pour into warm, sterilised jars and seal. The curd will keep for up to 4 weeks and needs to be kept in the fridge once opened. 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2009 3:00 pm

    Wow! So much to read since I’ve last been here!

    I didn’t get round to making marmalade as I had unexpected guests for the week. However, I will be doing it next week for sure and I’ll be using your blog to guide me. I already have the Preserves book by Pam Corbin, so I’m fairly confident!

    I love your idea about the little box of wondrous things for your baby to investigate while you cook! Genius!

    Your How page is also going to come in incredibly handy for me!

    By the way.. if I was to start crocheting, what would you advise me to buy and do you have a pattern you can point me to as an easy first thing to make?!?

    :o)

    hen
    x

  2. January 16, 2009 6:37 pm

    Oooh, a crochet convert! 🙂

    Well, first off, you’ll need a crochet hook (!), the size of which will be determined by your pattern/yarn. If you just want to do some practice pieces before attempting a pattern then the following hook sizes go with the following yarn weights:

    4ply: 3.5, 4.0 or 4.5mm
    DK: 4.5, 5 or 5.5
    Aran: 5.5, 6, 6.5

    Although that’s just a guide really as it depends on how tightly or loosely you crochet…

    Also, I wouldn’t recommend using anything less than 4ply to begin with, as it can be a bit fiddly, and steer clear of novelty yarns as they can make it hard to see the stitches.

    In terms of ‘how to’ books – I’d recommend these two:

    First Crochet by Lesley Stanfield
    The Compendium of Crochet Techniques by Jan Eaton

    However, the best for patterns (in my opinion) is The Happy Hooker book by Debbie Stoller – it has patterns for things you’d actually want to wear! The how to section is also the best I’ve come across but the big big big problem with it is that it’s an American publication and uses American crochet terms which are slightly different to UK ones. I taught myself using a mixture of American and UK books so I find it easy to switch between the two but it can be very, very, very confusing to begin with. Perhaps this would be one to look out for after you’ve mastered the basics? It does have some great patterns in it!

    Oh, just remembered – I have a ‘Start to Crochet’ booklet that I no longer need. I’d be happy to send it you if you’re interested?? If so, just email me your address and I’ll pop it in the post for you.

    There’s loads of good video tutorials on the web too – the best are at nexstitch – but again, these use American terms so you need to be aware of that.

    Anyhow, if you run into any difficulties or have any questions, please just ask – I’m more than happy to help. I love crochet and I’m keen to spread the love!

    Oh, and to stop talking about crochet for a moment (hard as that is), have fun making your marmalade!

  3. dowhatyoulove permalink
    January 16, 2009 8:27 pm

    Oh how did you know?! I wanted this recipe and there you have it. I believe I am going to try making this tonight if I have the time. I am going to a friends for dinner tomorrow, and I could take her a jar! Thank you my dear!

  4. January 16, 2009 9:37 pm

    You’re very welcome!
    🙂

  5. thegardensmallholder permalink
    January 18, 2009 9:59 am

    Yum my mouth is watering from just reading. Not had alot of time to myself lately but I really must try and make something from your lovely recipes.
    xx

  6. January 18, 2009 8:18 pm

    Kittybooooo!!!!!!! Thank yooooo!! Email on it’s way… ping!

    hen
    xx

Trackbacks

  1. 9 - Make a year’s supply of marmalade « 49before50

Leave a Reply

