Skip to content

Slouchy Hat

January 10, 2009


puffya

I’m not really a hat person, nor am I a bandwagon sort of person, so I was little surprised to find myself making the Pretty Puffs Slouchy Hat by Craftypants. The pattern has been hugely popular on Craftster and Ravelry but, up until this week, I’ve resisted it’s lure. I finally cracked when I was wondering what to do with a ball of yarn that has been lurking at the bottom of my stash for about 2 years – I thought it was about time I found a use for it and this pattern seemed ideal. I’m glad I gave in and followed the crowd. It is a lovely, lovely hat – quick and easy to crochet, used little yarn and is very versatile as it can be worn in a number of ways. Anyhow, enough enthusing, on to the nitty gritty….

puffy2

Pattern: Pretty Puffs Slouchy Hat

Hook: 6.50mm

Yarn: Cascade 220 Wool x 0.5 skein (not sure what shade sorry)

Modifications: None made although next time I might add in a few stitches to make the hat a bit more slouchy. I’m also planning a baby-size version as the babe tried my hat on and looked very cute!

puffy1

6 Comments leave one →
  1. dowhatyoulove permalink
    January 11, 2009 9:52 am

    I like this hat. I can’t say I am usually a fan of the slouchy hats in general, but I think the different patterns on this one makes it look cute, it gives it some texture and interest. Thats a nice color for you too. Good Job!

  2. January 11, 2009 10:54 am

    that hat is gorgeous! I’m not surprised you gave in and made it. It looks really ‘wearable; if that’s a word!?
    Seriously though, you’re making me have to learn to crochet. Never thought that would happen!

    Oh, and I’m making marmalade tomorrow. You’re really quite inspiring!! Thank you!!!!!

    hen
    xx

  3. January 11, 2009 11:02 am

    It looks gorgeous…. and what a beautiful green!
    And if I may be so bold… modelled beautifully!!
    Love Jane xxxxx

  4. January 11, 2009 3:58 pm

    Thank you all. I’ve hardly taken it off since I finished making it!

    Hen – good luck with your marmalade – mines bubbling away at the moment and filling the house with a lovely orangey fug!

  5. January 15, 2009 9:30 am

    Oh I like this. I want to try a hat, because I’m nuts of course. This is just the type I like.

  6. January 15, 2009 1:09 pm

    Thanks Mon – it’s actually a really easy pattern and crochet is much easier than knitting (in my opinion)!

Leave a Reply

