Skip to content

Seville Oranges

January 9, 2009

Guess what I’ll be doing this weekend….

seville2

For me, one of the delights of January are Seville Oranges. Any opportunity for preserving usually fills me with greedy anticipation, but these are even more special. They appear at a time when few fruits are in season and bring a welcome burst of colour into these grey winter days.

Seville Oranges have a short season – mid January to February – so you’ll need to snap them up quickly if you fancy a spot of marmalade making. Of course you can make marmalade with any citrus fruit, but Seville Oranges are particularly well-suited for the purpose as they are higher in pectin than normal oranges. They are bitter-tasting and full of pips, so definitely not for eating, yet their intense flavour is perfect for preserves. Marmalade is the obvious example but, if time permits, I’m also hoping to make some Seville Orange Curd. Yum! I usually try to avoid buying imported fruit but I do make an exception for Seville Oranges,  reasoning that just a small amount can keep us stocked up with marmalade for at least a year – so a little goes a long way!

Anyhow, more on marmalade in a future post….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2009 6:02 pm

    hmmmm…. my OH is passionate about his marmalade. Maybe I could give it a go this month? hmmmmmmmmm… can I be bothered….???!!

    :o)

    hen
    x

  2. January 9, 2009 6:08 pm

    It is a bit labour intensive – all that chopping – but the end results make it worth the hassle – and you smell lovely and orangey whilst you’re making it! 🙂

  3. dowhatyoulove permalink
    January 9, 2009 8:15 pm

    Sounds wonderful! We ended up with a rather surpluss of oranges through a few different means (my mother) and so she set out to make marmalade. She refuses to follow directions, so while she had a recipe in front of her, she did not stick to it. It didn’t turn out too bad, but it is a wee bit more tart than most of us would prefer…… I am pretty sure she used the food processor to chop it up, saves a bit of time.

  4. thegardensmallholder permalink
    January 9, 2009 10:28 pm

    Orange curd! Yummmmeee cannot wait for that post! I also love marmalade, never made it before and something I would be very interested in trying out.

  5. V. Raymond permalink
    January 22, 2009 1:01 am

    Where did you buy your Seville oranges? We live in the Toronto (Canada) area and cannot find any. They are usually here by now.

  6. January 22, 2009 8:06 am

    Hello. I’m in the UK and got the oranges from my local market. They’ve been available over here for a couple of weeks now – I did get some of the very first load though!

Leave a Reply

