Skip to content

Winter

January 7, 2009

frost

After celebrating Autumn with brightly-coloured photographs, seasonal recipes and a number of posts about apples that bordered on the obsessive, I’ve so far paid winter much less attention. In part this is due to the fact that I like Autumn more than Winter but also that there have been very few points so far this winter where all three of us have been wholly well – meaning few opportunities for getting out to enjoy the season. It also doesn’t help that the baby seems to hate the cold with a passion!

However, rather than thinking about all the things I dislike about winter, I want to focus on it’s more positive points. There are many reasons to love winter: beautiful snow-covered landscapes, mulled wine, trees silvered with frost, big bowls of hearty stew, making marmalade or cosying up in front of the fire.

Over the next few weeks I have a number of winter-themed activities planned that will hopefully help me connect with the season and learn to like it a bit more:

  • Woodland walks.
  • Lots of hearty winter cooking – stews, soups and bakes.
  • Making Seville Orange Marmalade.
  • Using the time indoors to have fun with crafts with the baby.
  • Making (and drinking) mulled cider.
  • Planning the garden for next year.
  • Keeping an eye out for early rhubarb at the market and pouncing when I see some.
  • Cosying up on the sofa and crocheting / knitting / stitching.

So, if I don’t learn to love winter after all that, I’ll just have to give up and try hibernation instead next year….

10 Comments leave one →
  1. dowhatyoulove permalink
    January 7, 2009 6:59 pm

    Good for you. It is hard some times when we don’t feel in tune with the season we are in. But I think its great that you are concious of it, and are changing how you view it. I bet with a list like that you will have a great time with your familiy during this cozy season. Its a great time to just slow down, cozy up with those you love, and enjoy some soulful time.

  2. January 8, 2009 12:02 pm

    What a warming list!! Just what I need as I’m freezing my lady bits off in this house!

    hen
    xx

    p.s. LOVE the photo! You can almost see the individual ice crystals on that leaf!

  3. January 8, 2009 1:23 pm

    Thank you both. I must admit, I’m particularly looking forward to the mulled cider! Sounds like you could do with a dose too Hen! 🙂
    x

  4. January 8, 2009 3:35 pm

    Winter, especially post-Christmas, can be icy, bleak, and monotonous, but as you pointed out, it can also be beautiful — snow fields, icicles, and stark trees against the winter sky.

    It’s been clear and WINDY here, with icy snow on the ground. Brrr… What’s winter like in Wales? Do you get much snow? My wife and I have been through the Snowdon area twice, but only in the summer.

    Beautiful photo by the way! Your photos are always lovely.

  5. January 8, 2009 6:43 pm

    Thanks very much Wil. Winter here so far has been decidedly unimpressive! We’ve had no snow – it’s just been cold, grey and damp (a bit like our summer really!). I think it’s partly because we’re in a town and partly because we’re surrounded by hills and mountains, making it quite sheltered here. There is snow on the mountains (I can see it from my window) – it just doesn’t seem to be reaching us down here. My mother, who only lives about half an hour away, has had lots of snow though – so much so that they were nearly snowed in a couple of days ago – so I have some serious snow envy!

  6. January 8, 2009 10:56 pm

    “Cold, grey and damp (a bit like our summer really!)”

    🙂 I’m actually a bit envious. I am not a sun-worshiper, but I live in a very sunny area. Cold, grey and damp days are few and far between around here. I wish we had more of them!

  7. thegardensmallholder permalink
    January 9, 2009 10:32 pm

    Ah I love your photo, it sums up the recent weather perfectly. We have had a flurry of snow here but it is mostly very frosty and just so very cold!

  8. January 10, 2009 8:26 pm

    Thanks very much – I’m jealous of your snow!

  9. January 12, 2009 10:21 pm

    That sounds like a whole lot of good reasons to enjoy winter – in fact it’s a list I could have made myself – apart from the baby bit! At 62 I’m well past the baby stage I’m afraid but the rest are all things I enjoy doing. Hope you have fun doing them.

  10. January 13, 2009 7:30 pm

    Thanks Rowan – I’m happy to report that I’m already enjoying winter much more!

Leave a Reply

