Skip to content

Stashbusting: Coasters

January 4, 2009

A little while ago, as part of my move towards greener crafting, I promised a series of stashbusting tips and patterns, and without further ado, here’s Tip Number 1: Think Small! This may sound obvious, but it’s amazing what you can make with only a small amount of yarn so save every last scrap! Here’s a few ideas for things you can crochet with very little yarn:

  • baby hat, mittens or booties
  • granny squares (once you have enough join them into one big, beautiful, cosy blanket)
  • headbands
  • dishcloths
  • little pots for keeping change and odds and ends in
  • brooches
  • soap savers

If you need a pattern for any of the above, take a look at crochetpatterncentral as there are patterns there for just about everything! If you’re still stuck for inspiration, I made some simple coasters a couple of days ago using yarn leftover from the many, many hats I made for Christmas. I’m reluctant to call the directions below a pattern – it’s really just 3 rows of trebles worked in a round – but for anyone new to crochet I thought it might be handy to elaborate a little….

coasters1

Simple Coasters

Hook: 5.00mm

Yarn: Odds and ends of aran weight yarn (I used some scraps of Organic Jacob Wool from Garthenor) – or you could also use 4ply or DK held together or use singly and simply work additional rounds until coaster-sized.

Note: The directions below use UK crochet terms. For US directions simply subsitiute tr (treble) with dc (double crochet).

Note on joining in yarns: To change colours neatly, work to end of the round but leave last stitch incomplete. Complete stitch with new yarn then slip stitch into starting chain. 

Directions

First Round: Make an adjustable ring, chain 3 then make 11 tr into the ring. Join in new colour. Slip stitch into top of starting chain (12 stitches).

Second Round: Chain 3, tr into same stitch, 2 tr into each stitch until end. Join in new colour. Slip stitch into third of three chains (24 stitches).

Third Round: Chain 3, tr into same stitch, tr into next stitch, *2 tr into next stitch, then 1 tr into next stitch. Repeat from * to end. Join with a slip stitch and fasten off (36 stitches). 

Weave in ends. 

Now the important bit, make yourself a cuppa, pop you mug on the coaster and admire your handiwork!

coaster2

The coasters will be going to my tea-loving dad for his birthday later in the month. They’ll match the hat I made him for Christmas. Nothing like a good bit of accessorizing…… 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. dowhatyoulove permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:11 pm

    Beautiful, and so practical using up all the left overs. My problem is, I buy yarn not having a project in mind, I just think they are pretty, and then when I do sit down to do a project I dont have enough of one color to do it….. poor planning. I have been better about not getting yarns lately though. But I do have a nice box full of pretty yarns, hehe.

  2. January 5, 2009 7:10 am

    Thank you for commenting on my blog. Learn to crochet obviously needs to be added to my list as I’d really like to be able to make those coasters, they are so attractive. Love the mug too:)

  3. January 5, 2009 1:20 pm

    Thank you both!

    dowhatyoulove – I know what you mean, I have a bit of a yarn ‘habit’ too. I’m being strict though and trying to work through my stash at the moment. I’m going to a Wool Festival in April though so I’m sure I’ll get another ton of yarn there (well, that’s my plan anyhow – am already saving up!)

  4. dowhatyoulove permalink
    January 5, 2009 8:43 pm

    ooooooh! A wool festival! That would be far too dangerous for me, hehe. Hope you find all kinds of wonderful things there!

  5. mountainannie permalink
    January 6, 2009 10:11 pm

    Happy day! I was just thinking how I need a coaster to protect my new desk from cup rings!

Leave a Reply

