Skip to content

Jacob Hats

December 8, 2008

I made these hats using the lovely organic Jacob Wool I bought from Garthenor and will be giving them as Christmas gifts to some of the men in my life: husband, dad, father-in-law and best friend’s hubby. 

jacobhat5

The wool is undyed and the different colours in the stripes are a result of the natural colour variations in the fleece of Jacob sheep.

jacobhat3

I made them in a similar way to the scrap hat, although I played around a bit to get rid of the seam. I’ve already ordered some more wool in order to make a couple more – some more Jacob plus some Manx Loghtan which I’m keen to give a try – in fact I’m keen to give all the wool at Garthenor a try! I think it’s important to support our rare breeds plus it gives me an excuse to buy yarn!

jacobhat

Finally, a bit about Jacob Sheep : Thought to be related to the pied sheep mentioned in the bible, the Jacob Sheep was introduced into Britain during the 18th century and was mainly kept as an ornamental parkland breed. Its wool is valued for its natural colour variations and its softness which makes it suitable for clothing. Personally, I found it lovely to work with – not itchy as I worried it might be – but lovely and soft and I’ve now added a few Jacob sheep to my fantasy smallholding wishlist!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. thegardensmallholder permalink
    December 8, 2008 9:18 am

    You are very talented, oh to be able to make something, or bake something……

  2. December 8, 2008 10:26 am

    The hats are gorgeous, such lovely colours! And I have to say modeled beautifully!!
    Jane xxx

  3. December 8, 2008 11:10 am

    Your so fast! Those hats are fantastic, I can’t believe it didn’t take you a month to make them.

    Good on you for supporting the rare breeds. I’ve just bought some washed, unsorted Jacobs fleece from them. I need to peg loom some bum cushions for our kitchen chairs. Thanks for the link!!

    hen
    xxx

  4. December 8, 2008 11:47 am

    Thank you all – I’m eagerly awaiting my wool delivery so I can get stuck into making a few more!

    Hen – the bum cushions sound great – I’ll keep an eye out for them on your blog 🙂 I feel a bit guilty as I was bought a peg loom over a year ago and am yet to use it! I’ve been gathering rags to make a rag rug but that’s as far as I’ve got. Hopefully seeing your cushions will inspire me to get a move on!

  5. December 9, 2008 7:11 pm

    Those turned out so well! Beautiful!!

  6. December 11, 2008 5:13 pm

    My organic jacobs fleece arrived! I had to have the unwashed stuff as that’s all he had. Never washed a fleece before, not quite sure what to expect! The wool is lovely though and the mix of colours is just right.

    thanks again for the link!

    hen
    xx

Leave a Reply

