Skip to content


Stashbusting: Scrap Hat

December 7, 2008

As mentioned in my previous post, I’m keen to use up every last scrap of yarn and so……. I present ‘The Scrap Hat!”

scraphat

I made it using an assortment of yarns leftover from previous projects – as these were of varying weights, I worked some of the rows holding 2 or 3 strands together. In case anyone is curious as to which yarns they are….

From top to bottom:

  • Cascade Pastaza in Mauve Heather 075 (this is a really beautiful blend of llama and wool – leftover from making a Fat Bottom Bag).
  • Cascade 220 in Cerise held together with Crystal Palace Kid Merino in Berry (a laceweight yarn left over from my first Cassia Scarf).
  • Debbie Bliss Cotton Cashmere in Purple held with Crystal Palace Kid Merino again plus 1 strand of Sirdar Snuggly DK in Ballerina (leftover from my baby ruffle sweater)
  • Cascade 220 again.
  • Cascade Pastaza again.

scraphat3

I didn’t really follow a pattern – just made it up as I went along and kept trying it on my noggin to check it fitted.  I’m pleased with the end result though – a really quick and easy way to use up scraps – plus it’s the first thing I’ve made for myself in a long, long time!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2008 11:29 am

    Love the Stashbusting hat!! You are so clever!!
    Dont’t forget to pick up your award from my blog mentioned in an earlier post…. you so deserve it!!
    Have a lovely Sunday,
    Jane xxxx

  2. December 7, 2008 4:44 pm

    there you are!! Hello!

    … is that you?

    I love that hat, it makes me want to learn crochet… better master knitting first though!

    hen
    xx

  3. December 7, 2008 5:19 pm

    Thank you both.

    hen – yup, tis me – freezing my pants off at Abergavenny Castle this morning. It was so very cold!

  4. silvercharmster permalink
    December 7, 2008 7:50 pm

    So cute! I love that hat!

Leave a Reply

