Skip to content

Happiness is…

December 3, 2008

tree_of_happiness_award_thumbnail 

Thanks very much for Compostwoman for tagging me for a Tree of Happiness Award!

The rules of this award are:

1. Link to the person who gave the award to you.

2. Post the rules on your blog.

3. List six things that make you happy.

4. Tag six people at the end of your post and link to them.

5. Let each person know they’ve been tagged and leave a comment on their blog

6. Let the person who awarded you, know when your entry is up.

So here are my six:

My nearest and dearest – I don’t think this needs much elaborating on. I love them and being with them makes me happy.

Making things – Whether it’s a crocheted cardigan, a few jars of jam, or a handmade card, I love to create. It gives me a great sense of satisfaction. I can feel proud of the finished article plus the process of making is often soothing and relaxing. After a hard day’s work, I love to curl up on the sofa with a glass of wine, a crochet hook and some yarn and ‘listen again’ to Women’s Hour. Bliss. Often when I’m not making something, I’m reading about making things, ogling the gorgeous FOs on Ravelry or planning my next project. 

Good Food – I enjoy food on many levels – obviously I like eating it (often to the detriment of my waistline) but I also really enjoy growing it, preparing it, cooking it, reading about it and even just looking at it! Food can be beautiful as well as tasty – think brightly coloured squashes, marbled borlotti beans or a beautifully alien-looking Romanesco cauli …..  mmmmmm!

A Good Night’s Sleep – that might sound lame but as someone who regularly suffers from severe insomnia, I’ve really learned to appreciate it when I do sleep. When I’ve slept well, the world seems a much brighter place and I feel capable of anything!

The Countryside – I love to be outside – it gives me a great sense of wellbeing, of connectedness with nature and makes me feel more like me. I think it’s easy to get caught up in your daily routines but being outdoors, surrounded by beauty, makes me stop and simply be. I love all sorts of landscapes and natural places but, above all, I love the ‘small places’ of the world – the bubbling brooks, the dappled woodlands or the mossy dells.

Books – When I was younger (and took myself far too seriously), I used to read a lot of highbrow literary fiction. These days, however, I prefer a healthy dose of escapism! I like historical fiction most of all and enjoy the work of Phillippa Gregory, Rose Tremain and Kate Mosse. I also get a lot of pleasure from non-fiction books – particularly craft related books that teach skills. Most of my crafts I have learned from books so thank you books!

I tag…

chicken betty

nakia knits

jennieworld

lazykate

border stories

burrito west

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 3, 2008 9:31 pm

    I’ve done it! Thanks for the tag.

Leave a Reply

