Skip to content

Ludlow Medieval Christmas Fayre

November 30, 2008

Yesterday we spent the day at Ludlow Medieval Christmas Fayre. It’s becoming something of a christmas tradition for us as we’ve been 3 years on the trot now and I suspect we’ll be there next year too. It’s just such good fun! 

ludlow1

One of the things I really like about the Ludlow Fayre, is that it’s not just about buying things. I’ve been to a number of christmas fairs over the years that are really just a collection of stallholders selling stuff – but Ludlow is different – there’s lots of entertainment for a start – carol singers, comedy acts, medieval minstrels, falconry displays and wassailers plus plenty of activities for children too: storytellers, ‘have-a-go’ archery and puppet shows. 

ludlow3

However, after saying that, there are plenty of things to spend your money on too and I’m always very impressed with the quality of the goods on offer. I also like the fact that, in keeping with the spirit of the fayre, there are a lot of medieval-themed crafts on display such as hand-made longbows (which my husband was very taken with), beautiful naturally-dyed yarns (I wanted to buy them all), medieval-style pottery, historical costumes and weaponry, green man plaques, leather drinking vessels and illuminated manuscripts

I do have a tendency to eat my way around events such as this and yesterday was no different. I chomped on a venison burger, slurped mulled wine, munched mince pies and consumed an alarming amount of fudge! It was all delicious. In fact, it was a really great day out – if rather cold – and I think the baby enjoyed it too. Well, that was until we reached her usual naptime and she became quite vocal about how tired and cold she was – we decided it was time to get the train home then!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2008 3:45 pm

    Sounds absolutely wonderful… a lovely day out!
    I would have found it very hard not to spend as like you I would have wanted to buy it all… sounds like their were many wonderful goodies for sale….
    Glad you enjoyed yourselves!
    Jane xxx

  2. Michelle permalink
    November 30, 2008 5:44 pm

    It sounds wonderful! I wish we had something like that here!

  3. November 30, 2008 6:27 pm

    Thanks both – it’s left me feeling very festive!

  4. November 30, 2008 8:28 pm

    We wanted to go but unfortunately it clashed with Compostgirls 8th birthday, her school fayre and today her out doors in the woods birthday party…..

    Glad you had fun, though!

  5. December 1, 2008 7:48 pm

    Thanks CW – sounds like you had a wonderful time in the woods though. Anything involving toasted marshmallows is good in my books! Compostgirl is very lucky – I’m sure it’s a birthday treat she’ll remember for many years to come!
    x

  6. December 4, 2008 4:34 am

    That looks _awesome_ – what a fantastic way to start off the season! I’m quite jealous.

Leave a Reply

