Skip to content

Crochet Hat and Mitts for baby

November 30, 2008

hatandmittens2

This is a christmas gift for my best friend’s baby girl. I really hope it fits as it looks so tiny! I know my daughter must have been small enough to wear them at one point, but she’s grown so much that it’s hard to believe! Anyhow, the details…..

Pattern: ‘Ruth’ from Easy to Crochet Cute Clothes for Kids by Sue Whiting

Yarn: Sirdar Snuggly DK in Ballerina Twist (50g) x 1 plus a tiny amount of Debbie Bliss Cotton Cashmere for the trim and embroidery.

Hook: 4.00mm

Modifications: Although I’m ashamed to admit it (as it’s such an easy straightforward pattern), I really only glanced at the directions and ended up doing the hat completely wrong. I guess some things can be too simple! My ‘mistake’ was not to turn the hat after each round, resulting in a curving seam. However, I discovered that I much prefered the texture of the fabric that not turning produced – I don’t know how well you can see from the picture, but the hat fabric is flat and the stitches irregular, whereas in the mittens (which I did turn) the fabric is slightly ridged and the stitches more pronounced – so I ended up quite pleased with my mistake! My other modification was to embroider stars as they’re simpler and more festive than flowers as shown in the book. I really love the embroidery – I’ve never really done much needlework (well, not since I was in brownies!) but it seems to work well with the crochet so I’m keen to brush up on it. It seems a simple but really effective way to embellish projects – something else to add to my never-ending ‘to-do’ list!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

