Skip to content

My New Toy!

November 19, 2008

spindle

It’s not as if I really needed another hobby – I don’t have time for the existing ones  – but when I saw this spinning kit I was unable to resist. I’ve long had a fascination for spinning. I love the idea of being able to start with a sheep and end up with a jumper. For me, it’s the ultimate in self-sufficiency. One of my (many) dreams would be to keep a small flock of sheep and make and sell my handspun. However, given my first few attempts at spinning, I think I have a long way to go before that’s likely to happen! The first yarn I managed to make was, to put it mildly, pretty bad. The thickness of it varies dramatically – at points its close to DK and in other places its less than laceweight. I’m too ashamed to show a picture of it! Oh well, I guess it’s a case of practice makes perfect – in my case, lots of practice!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. mipuravida permalink
    November 19, 2008 11:11 pm

    Good luck practicing! Before you know it you’ll be eyeballing spinning wheels!

  2. November 20, 2008 12:18 am

    I wish you well with the spinning.. you will get the hang of it soon I am quite sure…..
    I cannot even knit so the thought of spinning throws me into a panic!!
    I think I would just be happy to look after the sheep!!
    Jane xxx

  3. November 20, 2008 3:34 am

    Spinning with a drop spindle was one of the most frustrating things I’ve ever tried! When they call it drop spindle, they really mean DROP spindle, since that’s all I was doing… dropping it on the floor. Good luck!

  4. November 20, 2008 11:52 am

    oh kittyboo! I SO know what you mean!! Those are my dreams too!

    That wool looks lovely!

    Don’t stop practicing until it clicks! I spent 5 hours non-stop spinning the other night and, finally, it clicked!!! It was a madness though. 😉

    hen
    xx

  5. November 20, 2008 11:54 am

    Just an aside… your blog is really professional looking, the photographs are so well shot that it’s an absolute pleasure looking at them!

    🙂

  6. November 20, 2008 1:34 pm

    Thanks for the supportive comments everyone. I’m determined to keep going with it!

    mipuravida – I’m already eyeing up the wheels even though I’d have no idea what to do with one! I keep checking out the secondhand ones on ebay – I’m sure its only a matter of time before I succumb!

    hen – thanks so much. I really can’t take credit for it though – hubby takes most of the pictures and the blog layout is just a free wordpress one. My husband also made the banner (although with detailed instructions from me 🙂 ) and I’ve got him signed up to make one for each season.

    I seem to be making a bit of headway with the spinning. I was able to spend a few hours last night practicing whilst the baby was asleep and my husband was out. I’m getting more of a feel for the drafting out – although the yarn is still of very variable thickness!

  7. November 20, 2008 7:32 pm

    Hello,
    I followed your link over from Craftsters. Your spinning venture is so appealing to me. I’ve been thinking about trying it but its as you say, I don’t have enough time to do my existing crafts. But I would like to trying spinning newspaper and plastic bags. I’ve seen other posts showing it and the results are soo cool. Good luck on your spinning.

  8. November 23, 2008 5:06 pm

    my first drop spindle was a dowel, a cd, rubberband and a cup hook – love it still. Have fun!
    Oh, and I tagged you 🙂

  9. January 15, 2009 1:14 pm

    Ah go ahead and show it .. it is all beautiful! I love spinning although I don’t do it as much as I would like to.. I use an Ashford Traditional …. I made a little drop spindle once a long time ago and it does take a special knack to get the hang of it… I didn’t really produce much with it but it realy gives one the true basic knowledge of how spinning works…

    Can you imagine the shepherds doing this as they roamed the fields with their flocks.. Oh to have life slow down to that pace again… wouldn’t that be a treat!!

  10. January 15, 2009 1:20 pm

    Yes, that would be lovely – a slow and simple life, treading lightly on the earth. A little dream of mine is to keep a few Jacob sheep in an orchard and make my living spinning and making cider (sigh). I must confess, I’ve had very little chance to spin lately but my husband has promised to buy me a wheel if I can master my drop spindle – if that’s not an incentive to get practicing, I don’t know what is!

  11. January 15, 2009 1:40 pm

    Oh, after mastering the drop spindle… you will think you died and went to heaven when you use a wheel… a friend of mine used to have a jacob sheep and I tried some of the wool.. very springy and soft…. she made a blanket in stripes and checks all with the wool from the same sheep.. a bit of a loner type these sheep are but hey I can relate…

  12. January 15, 2009 1:53 pm

    That blanket sounds lovely – I love the colour variations you get with Jacob wool. I’ve heard of Jacobs being used as ‘attack sheep’ to protect farm property – given the horns some of them have, I imagine they’d be pretty fearsome!

Leave a Reply

