Skip to content

Crochet Update: Another Cassia

November 17, 2008

I must apologise to those of you who read this blog for the crochet content as it’s been in short supply recently. The reason for this is that I’ve lots of different projects on the go at the moment which I keep switching between so that nothing ever seems to get finished. As they’re all for christmas I really need to get a move on! Anyhow, this weekend I finally managed to finish one of my projects and here it is:

kscassia3

It’s another Cassia Scarf, made this time as a Christmas gift for my mother-in-law. Here are the details:

Pattern: Cassia Scarf (by me!)

Yarn: Rowan Kidsilk Spray (70% kid mohair 30% silk) 25g x 3

Hook: 4.00mm

Modifications: None made

Remarks: Although it looks and feels lovely, I wouldn’t use the Kidsilk again for this pattern – it’s just too fluffy which resulted in a good deal of stitch definition being lost. Also, I really regret not swatching before I set out as the kidsilk produced a much wider fabric than the Crystal Palace Kid Merino I’d used previously and, had I swatched, I would have used a smaller hook and got rid of one of the pattern repeats. Although not necessarily too wide, the scarf is definately ‘generously’ proportioned! Oh well, you live and learn. I’m happy enough with the end result to give it as a gift – I’m sure my mother-in-law will, at the very least, love the colours (I chose them with her in mind) and hopefully she’ll appreciate the effort too. 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2008 9:03 pm

    This is stunning! I’m off to look at the pattern now and try to think of someone I could make it for for Christmas!

  2. November 18, 2008 4:59 am

    Lovely – so interesting to see this scarf in different yarns, and hear how it turned out. I tried a few of my stash yarns but nothing I have really suits the pattern. Guess I’ll have to go shopping! 😉

  3. November 18, 2008 4:24 pm

    That is so beautiful!! How talented you are. I really wish I could knit.
    I do know the basics, but I am very clumsy and casting on is a nightmare!
    Now I have seen that gorgeous scarf.. I want to make one myself but I know it would just end in tears.. or not even begin!!
    Your Mother-in-Law is going to be a very happy lady at Christmas time!!
    Love Jane xxx

  4. November 18, 2008 4:27 pm

    If you recieve my comment again, I do apologise its because I have been having computer problems!! Arrghhhhh!!
    Love Jane xxx

  5. November 18, 2008 6:28 pm

    Thanks very much everyone.
    🙂

  6. November 19, 2008 5:19 pm

    That is just stunning, gorgeous colour too! Crochet is a mystery to me, but I love it! So delicate (which is probably why it’s such a mystery!)

    Can’t wait to see more!

    hen
    xx

  7. November 19, 2008 7:03 pm

    Thanks very much hen – I actually find crochet way easier than knitting. I feel like I need an extra hand when I try to knit – one for each needle and one for the yarn – but crochet seems much more manageable to me as it only requires two hands – one for the hook and one for the yarn! Guess that’s just me though…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

